Quinoa Porridge with Cinnamon Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jdancer79
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Love this! Quick, easy, and yum! I used 2 Fuji apples, a reduced sugar syrup, almond-coconut milk, and some splenda plus I omitted the half and half since I didn't have any. Very good. My 4 year old enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My children took one look at this and started to cry until I forced them to smell it. Then they cleaned their bowls! I liked how another reviewer said to add raisins. I'll try that next time. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was my first quinoa attempt and it was lovely! Nice texture, just enough sweetness. New breakfast for variety. Next time I will try an asian version adding pears and ginger ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just polished off this dish for breakfast about five minutes ago. Very good! This was my first shot at quinoa, and thanks for making that new experience a pleasant one! It's similar to how I cook oatmeal sometimes (though I do that sans milk and cream; just water). I don't usually keep random things like Almond milk around, so I just used skim, and also fat free half and half. I also used a light butter spread and cut the amount in half, as I only really wanted a little butter flavor for the apples. To saute the apples with the reduced amount of butter, I just used cooking spray to keep it from sticking to the pan, and added just that little bit of butter spread for flavour. I also swapped the almonds for chopped pecans. (Apples and cinnamon just seem to pair up so nicely with pecans!) I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was a pretty good recipe but I was expecting it to be sweet for some reason and was definitely let down on that point. After I added a bunch of sugar to it, I loved it :) I would make it again, but I would add sugar from the get go since I like sweet breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tasty. I didn't have almond milk so I used regular, 1%, dairy milk. Also added some brown sugar to my bowl because I like it that way. Its texture reminds me of Sunny Boy cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was exceptional! We put all the ingredients into a crockpot (minus the milk as we used dairy not almond) and cooked on low overnight. The next morning we stirred in some warmed milk and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is yummy. I added peanut butter b/c I didn't have almonds. Served it over greek yogurt to cool it off fast for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Pretty tasty - my first attempt to cook with quinoa! Next time I will use two apples instead of one and try doubling the cinnamon and maybe upping the almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Super yummy! My 3 year old LOVED it. I did omit the nuts from her's as she is not a huge fan. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States