Quinoa Porridge with Cinnamon Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jdancer79
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Love this! Quick, easy, and yum! I used 2 Fuji apples, a reduced sugar syrup, almond-coconut milk, and some splenda plus I omitted the half and half since I didn't have any. Very good. My 4 year old enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My children took one look at this and started to cry until I forced them to smell it. Then they cleaned their bowls! I liked how another reviewer said to add raisins. I'll try that next time. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was my first quinoa attempt and it was lovely! Nice texture, just enough sweetness. New breakfast for variety. Next time I will try an asian version adding pears and ginger ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just polished off this dish for breakfast about five minutes ago. Very good! This was my first shot at quinoa, and thanks for making that new experience a pleasant one! It's similar to how I cook oatmeal sometimes (though I do that sans milk and cream; just water). I don't usually keep random things like Almond milk around, so I just used skim, and also fat free half and half. I also used a light butter spread and cut the amount in half, as I only really wanted a little butter flavor for the apples. To saute the apples with the reduced amount of butter, I just used cooking spray to keep it from sticking to the pan, and added just that little bit of butter spread for flavour. I also swapped the almonds for chopped pecans. (Apples and cinnamon just seem to pair up so nicely with pecans!) I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was a pretty good recipe but I was expecting it to be sweet for some reason and was definitely let down on that point. After I added a bunch of sugar to it, I loved it :) I would make it again, but I would add sugar from the get go since I like sweet breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tasty. I didn't have almond milk so I used regular, 1%, dairy milk. Also added some brown sugar to my bowl because I like it that way. Its texture reminds me of Sunny Boy cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was exceptional! We put all the ingredients into a crockpot (minus the milk as we used dairy not almond) and cooked on low overnight. The next morning we stirred in some warmed milk and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is yummy. I added peanut butter b/c I didn't have almonds. Served it over greek yogurt to cool it off fast for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Pretty tasty - my first attempt to cook with quinoa! Next time I will use two apples instead of one and try doubling the cinnamon and maybe upping the almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Super yummy! My 3 year old LOVED it. I did omit the nuts from her's as she is not a huge fan. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States