Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
The only thing I changed was all of the lemon flavors. I added no lemon anything. Even DH & DS liked this one! Ha Ha they ate something healthy and enjoyed it...shhh don't tell them, lol. After posting I remembered that I had some leftover and the next day I stuffed the Quinoa Pilaf into blanched , green bell peppers, topped with tomato paste and baked like stuffed peppers. That was even better than the pilaf alone...and....healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFDEATH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Our family loves quinoa and I'm always looking for different ways to prepare it. I actually doubled the recipe and added some dry mushrooms and made this the main course. This recipe was a bit bland. I tried to flavor it up by using chicken broth instead of water but found it still lacking. I want to try it again and next time add some garlic with the onion and add more lemon juice. Good recipe to start with though, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Impressive color combination! Great flavor! Wonderful vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was really good, even my 9-month old daughter LOVED it. She just kept opening her mouth for more, which these days is pretty uncommon. I didn't add lemon or salt & pepper because I don't give my daughter salt and my husband is not a fan of lemon. What I did add though was some grated cheddar cheese, bell pepper and turkey ham - yum! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
It has potential, but with the zest and the juice was way too lemony for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
this was okay. It came out a little sticky. And it is slightly sweeter than expected. If I make it again I will use broth instead of water. It got no complaints from the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We really like quinoa and this pilaf was good. I liked the hint of citrus. Next time I make it, I will use chicken stock in place of the water. I drizzled some chicken broth over top and it tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I doubled this recipe - it didn't translate well for me. Sorry! I found it to be a bit sticky even though I rinsed and roasted the quinoa beforehand. I want to cook with this grain more often but won't likely make this recipe again. If you're doubling pay special attention to the new metrics. I think I used too much lemon! Will try a variation of this again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Tastes great cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly except I doubled the amount of quinoa and water. It was delicious and had a nice, delicate flavor. I followed one reviewer's advice and dry-toasted the quinoa after I rinsed it. The end result was light and fluffy, and the veggies were perfectly cooked and not mushy. My 3-year-old and 18-month old loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States