Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this when I used zucchini instead of peas, cilantro instead of a bay leaf, and cooked the quinoa in 1/2 spicy V8 and 1/2 chicken broth! Definitely large chop veggies and I cooked them in coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Made this recipe scaled to 4 servings. Used other reviewer's tip and added a chicken bouillon cube with the water. Also, only used lemon juice because I couldn't find my citrus zester and I was in a rush to get dinner made. I had cooked the quinoa for 17 min., but it was still undercooked, so I added about 2/3 c. water and cooked it for another 8 min. until done. The flavor was very good, and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars was over the water issue. This would make a good "1st-Timer" dish for anyone new to quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My first experience cooking quinoa. I rinsed well and dry-toasted it. Threw in whatever veggies I had around, sauteed, and used chicken broth for the liquid. Next time I will use slightly less cooking liquid, as it was a bit wet for my taste. Very delicious; will be making quinoa regularly from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I was cooking pork in the crockpot, so I used the pork dripping in place of the water. I omitted the peas ecause we don't care for them. It was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I love this recipe but I like to add a couple teaspoons of indian spices such as curry and cumin. It really adds a lot of flavor. I find the recipe a bit bland without spices. You can also add basil and savory spices like sage and a bit of rosemary if you don't care for indian spices. With spices, I give this a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I liked this sooooooo much. I want to make it every day. Go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe that also tastes good the next day! Like another reviewer, I used g. pepper since I was out of celery. I also threw a handful of toasted sunflower seeds on top before serving. This is really a wonderful recipe as-is, but is also great for adding your own unique twists. Next time, I might add a handful of chopped walnuts and/or some dried fruit -- cranberries, currents or diced apricots. I agree that the lemon juice and zest add a subtle something that is just-right. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Fantastic! Left out the onion and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I need to remember next time to chop the vegetables up finer. Did not add the lemon, but will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
used chicken stock in place of water and it was wonerful. very refreshing!!! the hubby thought it was too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jelliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States