Quinoa Pilaf with Shredded Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Exceptional for Quinoa! I'm not a huge fan of quinoa, but I like making it because it's extremely healthy for you. But, this is very tasty and my kids liked it too. I didn't use it as my main dish and I had to make a few changes. I didn't have any fresh celery so I used celery flakes. And I didn't have any Italian seasoning so I used Poultry seasoning. It was very good. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Thank you! I am a vegetarian and my husband does not believe a meal is complete without meat. This was a great recipe for us. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Then, when the recipe called for meat, I split the dish in two - adding turkey to his portion and edamame to mine. Everyone was satisfied. Even my son who is just starting with table food liked this. : ) One other note - I did not have coconut oil so I used a citrus flavored olive oil - still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was so good! Like another reviewer, I'm a vegetarian and my husband loves chicken. I made the recipe as listed except that I didn't have celery so I subbed a little celery salt and I used mixed French herbs instead of Italian seasoning. At the end I put in cooked finely chopped chicken breast for hubby and the kids and chick peas for myself. It was so good, everyone ate it all up and I have a very fussy family. As a side note, coconut oil does not provide much flavor, I use it as a healthier alternative to vegetable oil when I don't want that bitterness that olive oil can add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikimouse
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't have coconut oil, so I just used canola oil. I also did not add the celery, but did throw in some diced zucchini when I added the chicken. This recipe was great tasting and healthy. You could really add a variety of veggies to your own preference. Will definitely make again - it makes a great weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
After reading the reviews I was afraid it might be bland so I omitted the Italian seasoning and sage and replaced with a citrus seasoning and then added a can of drained mandarin oranges when I added the chicken. My family really enjoyed this and we even had my son's friend who ended up staying and eating with us and asked how to make it. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I liked this recipe and I'm new at quinoa. I did add garlic powder, deleted the sage and replaced a bit of the water with cream of chicken soup (not condensed) while slightly increasing liquid to 2 1/4. Speaking as someone who is trying to like quinoa and hasn't fallen in love with previous recipes, this is one my teens and I would eat again. I was creamy like a risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used light coconut milk and water instead of chicken broth. Added about 1 tsp of curry powder and a glove of garlic. Fantastic! Next time will add some coriander and/or cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was very tasty! Everyone in my house loved it, including my picky 7 yr old and father in law. My husband packed it for lunch and he said everyone kept complimenting the appearance and smell. I did not have fresh sage, I used ground sage. Before I realized I had that ground sage I had added thyme and rosemary as a substitute. Oh and I used olive oil since I had no coconut oil. We made this 2 weeks ago and we are making again today , but I will add more veggies. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I've had some success, but more failures, cooking with quinoa. This was the BEST quinoa recipe I've tried so far! I replaced the coconut oil with olive oil, the onion with red onion, the celery with asparagus, and the fresh sage with dried sage. This was really tasty, and the picky men in my family actually liked it!!! This recipe could be easily used for a couple made up of a vegitarian and a carnivore, as the chicken could be thrown in at the last minute for the carnivore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
As a vegan, I made a few changes to this recipe and prepared my chicken on the side for the meat eaters in my house. I diced some mushrooms and added that to the veg along with some garlic before I added vegetable stock and a little salt and pepper. This dish got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States