Quinoa Pilaf with Shredded Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I liked this recipe and I'm new at quinoa. I did add garlic powder, deleted the sage and replaced a bit of the water with cream of chicken soup (not condensed) while slightly increasing liquid to 2 1/4. Speaking as someone who is trying to like quinoa and hasn't fallen in love with previous recipes, this is one my teens and I would eat again. I was creamy like a risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
After reading the reviews I was afraid it might be bland so I omitted the Italian seasoning and sage and replaced with a citrus seasoning and then added a can of drained mandarin oranges when I added the chicken. My family really enjoyed this and we even had my son's friend who ended up staying and eating with us and asked how to make it. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This dish was ok, but I dont think I will make it again. It was a little bland and boring for me. I didnt have italian seasoning so I used poultry seasoning as someone recommended. I also eliminate the carrots and added mushrooms, since that is what I had. I rinsed the quinoa prior to cooking but Im not sure what difference that made, if any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't have coconut oil, so I just used canola oil. I also did not add the celery, but did throw in some diced zucchini when I added the chicken. This recipe was great tasting and healthy. You could really add a variety of veggies to your own preference. Will definitely make again - it makes a great weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was so good! Like another reviewer, I'm a vegetarian and my husband loves chicken. I made the recipe as listed except that I didn't have celery so I subbed a little celery salt and I used mixed French herbs instead of Italian seasoning. At the end I put in cooked finely chopped chicken breast for hubby and the kids and chick peas for myself. It was so good, everyone ate it all up and I have a very fussy family. As a side note, coconut oil does not provide much flavor, I use it as a healthier alternative to vegetable oil when I don't want that bitterness that olive oil can add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikimouse
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Good flavor. I used green onions instead of a regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Yum! This recipe was a real winner! I made it with olive oil instead of coconut, added sliced garlic, had only two carrots and omitted the chicken. It was hearty and flavourful. Next time I will try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclarke5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Thank you! I am a vegetarian and my husband does not believe a meal is complete without meat. This was a great recipe for us. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Then, when the recipe called for meat, I split the dish in two - adding turkey to his portion and edamame to mine. Everyone was satisfied. Even my son who is just starting with table food liked this. : ) One other note - I did not have coconut oil so I used a citrus flavored olive oil - still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is good, though next time I'd add a bit more celery and stick with 3 carrots (2 wasn't enough for me). I didn't taste the coconut oil at all as one of the reviewers did- I did add a bit of soy sauce for added flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Union Gap, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
YUMMY!! I added poultry season to the boneless skinless chicken breast I used, diced and added corn, peas and carrots to it too. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States