Quinoa Pilaf with Shredded Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My 3 boys and hubby really liked this one. Everyone voted on 4 stars. Would love to try with the addition of asparagus next time. I think any meat would go well. I doubled the batch for our family. We have a little left over, but I know it will disappear after school today. It is recommended to rinse your quinoa before making it. Also, don't use too much oil or butter....it doesn't absorb well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband put a little salt on the final product and said I don't know what you did to this but you made quinoa that I actually enjoy. I kept the shredded chicken on the side and used dried sage. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Vegetarians can also enjoy this dish. Just sub veg stock for chicken. Once quinoa is cooked separate into two dishes so chicken can be added to one dish and the other, you can add whatever meat substitute you wish. I took on the suggestion of another reviewer and added chick peas to mine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We are attempting to find a dish to make with Quinoa - but this is not it. We don't know if we like Quinoa yet and this dish did not help us answer that question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
As a vegan, I made a few changes to this recipe and prepared my chicken on the side for the meat eaters in my house. I diced some mushrooms and added that to the veg along with some garlic before I added vegetable stock and a little salt and pepper. This dish got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I personally thought the sage was an awful flavor to have in this dish. I added a ton of garlic and also some red pepper, per other review. That helped immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Substituted the coconut oil for canola oil, but added 2 Tbsp coconut milk with the broth. Did not have Italian seasoning, so I used 11/2 tsp dried thyme, 1/4 tsp dried rosemary, and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Also, added the chicken before the long cooking period so it could absorb the herbs. Nice stew-type texture. Quinoa was helpful with my iron deficiency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I've had some success, but more failures, cooking with quinoa. This was the BEST quinoa recipe I've tried so far! I replaced the coconut oil with olive oil, the onion with red onion, the celery with asparagus, and the fresh sage with dried sage. This was really tasty, and the picky men in my family actually liked it!!! This recipe could be easily used for a couple made up of a vegitarian and a carnivore, as the chicken could be thrown in at the last minute for the carnivore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was very tasty! Everyone in my house loved it, including my picky 7 yr old and father in law. My husband packed it for lunch and he said everyone kept complimenting the appearance and smell. I did not have fresh sage, I used ground sage. Before I realized I had that ground sage I had added thyme and rosemary as a substitute. Oh and I used olive oil since I had no coconut oil. We made this 2 weeks ago and we are making again today , but I will add more veggies. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States