Quinoa Pilaf With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I cut the quinoa to 1/2 cup because this recipe was only for one person. I used a styo-box of mushrooms and about 1-1/2 cups of home-made veg broth. I also added 2T of sesame seeds and toasted with the mushrooms. I used this as a side dish with leftovers, but will also use it as a main course in the future because it has good protein as is. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My daughter hasn't warmed up to quinoa until this dish. The thing that made this a winner is sauteing the quinoa in olive oil to brown. It really brings out flavor! I didn't have a shallot or mushrooms, so I used 1/4 of a white onion, and a 1/2 cup of broccoli, chopped. I think it would be wonderful with the shallots and mushrooms, but I didn't have time to go to the store. I also used chicken broth (all I had on hand) with great results. I didn't find it too salty, but used good, low salt broth. The only thing I added was some shredded parmesan cheese to the hot quinoa once I dished it onto plates. Just a sprinkle. The family really liked this dish. It will make it into our regular rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have never had quinoa before so I wasn't sure what to expect. Much better then I thought it would be and very easy. I used Chicken stock because that's what I had and it was still good. I think it's a fun thing to experiment with and add your favorite things. I will do feta and nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious! the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is amazing - one of my absolute favorites. That being said, definitely cut the salt in half or even just don't add any at all if your stock is already salty. Other than that, I like a few more mushrooms and shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Yummy! Hubby and I are trying to eat healthy and this is a great alternative to pasta or white rice. Followed the recipe, except used only 1 teaspoon salt. Can't wait to add some extra veggies to the leftovers and have a totally different dish tomorrow. It made enough for both of us to eat again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very easy, fast and delicious. Even my little kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This dish was excellent and made more than I expected. Next time though, I would cut the salt in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
very good. savory and salty the mushrooms are my favorite part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
geez-owie is this good. was looking for a vegetarian potluck recipe and this fit the bill. only changes I made are to omit the added salt (not needed if your stock is flavorful), used shitake instead of cremini (it's what my shroom vendor had), and I added toasted slivered almonds at the end. Next time I will use less liquid, as it was too moist (my normal quinoa recipe calls for less than 2:1 water to grain, so I should have held back). Other than that, great! and it dried out overnight to a better consistency. I can see this being a go-to recipe because of all its healthy ingreds (3 of the GBOMBS!). No reason not to increase the mushroom and shallot amounts. Also, I think any sliced shrooms will do fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States