Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe aside from the following: I toasted the walnuts before adding and waited until the very end to add the fresh chopped parsley, important to use fresh for this recipe. I also added 1/4 C of golden rasins while I was boiling the quinoa. Gave it a nice sweet and savory flavor. finally, we added a little grated parmesean. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delish! My husband and I thought it was great. I didn't put walnuts or parsley on it. My kids tried it but weren't loving it. But I'll try again and hope they'll develop a taste for it. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also added some garlic when I sauteed the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My husband loved this, its a great way to enjoy pilaf, adds tons of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
it's ok, lacked a little flavor.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Wonderful nutty flavour. I add other vegetables too such as celery or whatever I have at hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We loved it, although I must admit we used millet in place of the quinoa (dh likes it better). Didn't add the walnuts (dh doesn't like nuts in his savory foods). Overall, WONDERFUL flavor! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was ok, not great. Mine came out mushy and I even reduced the amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Yum! This is our first time eating/cooking quinoa. Following the advice from another reviewer, I cooked onions with garlic before adding 1/4 c of burbon- sorry we drank the wine :). Then I added carrots, celery (diced) and the quinoa and cooked them for 1 minute before adding chicken broth. I omitted the walnuts and added a pat of real butter for creaminess before serving. Thanks for giving me a great base for such a healthy and satisfying side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This dish was just okay. I rinsed the quinoa and followed the recipe as printed, but it turned out bland. I seasoned it with salt and pepper before serving, but I couldn't seem to bring out a good flavor. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
great base for any type of flavor i left out walnuts(allergies) but added tamari and ginger yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States