Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Halved the recipe, but stayed heavy on the walnuts, toasted them before adding. I rinsed the quinoa and sauteed it briefly with the carrots and garlic before adding the broth. No onions in the house, so used some dried chopped onion just before all the liquid absorbed. Quinoa can be pretty bland, but came out great with the extra walnuts. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Great side dish. I omit the nuts and carrots for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I think this was a great start for me I added corn,garlic,and little bit of sweet potatos. First I used coconut oil to toast up the garlic and onion. then I added the one cut up carrot about a handful of finly chopped sweet potato and frozen corn. I let that cook for about 5 min then added the quinoa and then the broth. I put this into a cooked acorn squash that I cooked with butter and maple syrup. Very Very good if I may add....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelwithin27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Mixed reviews at our house tonight... Admittedly it's the first time any of us have had quinoa, let alone cooked it, but we tried 2 different quinoa recipes tonight - this and one for pudding from this site. Followed several reviewer's suggestions to add minced garlic at the beginning, and I used chicken stock instead of vegetable, but other than that followed the recipe. Even with the garlic and salt & pepper to taste, it was pretty bland. Topped it with some grated asiago which added a nice flavor. Hubs liked it, as did our 15 y/o boy (which is an accomplishment is because he's SUPER picky!), but our younger kids thought it was gross. I didn't love it, didn't hate it, but I'm willing to try quinoa again in again in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I followed it exactly and it was really good. I had to use cheese cloth to rinse it. Anyone have a better idea? But will def do again and use as a base for some creative recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Pretty good. Use only one carrot. It took over the flavor of the grain. I loved it. Partner thought it just "okay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was a very good recipe; we enjoyed it alot. I did add a little white wine for flavor and was very satisfied with that. I forgot the walnuts but didn't miss them, except maybe for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
A good basic guide that can adapt to numerous possibilities. This was my first time trying quinoa (finally) and I followed the tips of others making sure to rinse the quinoa well. Then I added 1 clove garlic minced with onion, used chicken stock and a tablespoon of tomato purée (paste), omitted carrots (just personal taste), then finished with the nuts, parsley and some crumbled blue cheese. Yum! As I was eating it, I kept thinking of other things to incorporate...fresh greens maybe or peppers or olives. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paminwales

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Except for adding fresh garlic at the start and rinsing the quinoa, I made the pilaf exactly as written. It was delicious, and my quinoa-hating husband loved it. I think you could add any vegetables that you like. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I tweaked it by adding minced garlic at the beginning with the chopped onions & used low sodium "better than bullion chicken" for the broth! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States