Quinoa-Cranberry Salad with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The recipe is good as is, however, I added 1 chopped apple, 1 orange supremed, and zest of 1 orange,and replaced the pecans with walnuts . You can also use fresh cranberries, and crush them in the food processor and add sugar to you likeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe was sort of flavorless so I made a few changes. I sautéed an onion and celery with garlic, thyme, rosemary and sage. I mixed it into the salad and also added golden raisins. This made it taste like and alternative stuffing. Would be great for vegetarians at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Simple and tasty for sure. The changes I made included using red quinoa instead of regular (really yummy and nutty). I used fresh cranberries rather than dried as they are in season and so good for you! I also sauteed a small onion and garlic to add to the mix. As far as seasonings go I mixed the olive oil, lemon, salt and pepper per the recipe and then added a little honey for sweetener and some fresh sage from my home herb garden. To finish I threw in some fresh chopped parsley also. This recipe is awesome because you can really mix and match what is in your cabinets and make it work regardless. The last thing I'll add is that quinoa always takes a bit longer to cook than the package says. It's usually ready for me in 20 minutes, not the indicated 6 or 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe Sarah! Thank you for submitting it. I only added 2 things, some chopped green onion as well as some chopped fresh parsley. I did let mine sit overnight and had it for lunch the next day - it is SO much better if you let the flavours sit and develop. Next time I make it I may add grated carrots or chopped apples (as others have mentioned). I used red quinoa (love the stuff!) and aside from being SO healthy, it looks darn good too! I will take a pic and upload as this is one of those 'faceless' recipes that needs a pic to be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I make this salad all the time, except that I use wheat berries instead of quinoa (although quinoa works just fine too) and I add diced celery and minced fresh parsley. It's easy, delicious and healthy and is one of my hubby's favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is so easy and has so few ingredients, yet the flavor has depth. I like simple things, and this is that. It has a very warm and buttery flavor. I got home late one evening and decided to try this. I had just this for dinner. Very satisfying. It's good warm or cold--I had the remainder with the next night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great side salad for Thanksgiving; I added 1/2 orange worth of fresh zest and served at room temperature... toasted the pecans with a bit of butter in oven for 10 minutes or so then let cool before chopping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just had this dish from the Southern Seasons store in NC. It was so light and tasty! They added chives which I also liked. I'm going to include this in our Thanksgiving menu for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I love quinoa, so this was a great recipe for the holidays. The cranberries and pecans were delicious, I added green onions too. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I thought this was great. When I make quinoa, I usually use half water and half chicken broth for added flavor. Since I was using fresh lemon juice I added the zest from one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States