Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
One of my favorites to make. I don't add in the beef since I don't think this needs it. The quinoa really does well as the star of this chili. I like some zing, so I add in three jalapeños and occasionally add in some cayenne pepper. This is a fun recipe to use as a starting block, then branch out to try new things. Each time I make it I try something new (different beans, different spices, different peppers), and it's never been bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Loved this!!! We altered a few things, no beef, a little extra chili powder, no jalapeno. it turned out super spicy, but super good! the texture of the quinoa is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I had quinoa, garbanzo beans and ground beef but it all worked in this chili! I was really surprised, to tell the truth. Good flavor. I reduced the chili powder and omitted the jalapeno as I'm not a fan of spicy. I also did not use the corn and zucchini as I didn't have either. The rest I followed. I enjoyed this. Will make again, and plan for the zucchini and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I am not a big fan of black beans, so I used half black and half cannellini. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
ate it but away too bland won't use the black beans next time or at least drain the liquid from them first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjump2014
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is an excellent take on chili! I did not have any cooked black beans so I added great northern which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very think and hearty.However,I had to add two cans of tomato sauce,as the one can of crushed tomatoes was not enough to keep it liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
We loved this recipe! It comes out thick, like chili stew. I omitted the beef to keep it vegetarian, and I didn't have cilantro on hand. It came out very tasty. This is on our new favorite list and it was very fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakerman81
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made it for a Boy Scout camp out and it was loved by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Some adjustments made but I don't see how you could go wrong with this recipe, all the basics are there to adjust it to your liking. I made this with what I had in the pantry, so instead of 28oz crushed tomatoes, I used a can of Rotel and a can of diced tomatoes. The Rotel more than made up for the fact I didn't have a jalapeno. I left out the meat altogether and used just half the cumin. When adding the quinoa back in, it did absorb a lot of liquid, so I did as some other reviewers did and added a bit of V8. Loved it and will make it again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States