Quinoa Chard Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Whoa, bland. My husband picked out this recipe, and by the time I got to the end I double-checked it to see what I had forgotten...and I had forgotten nothing. The flavors in this recipe are exclusively earthy; it desperately needs an acidic flavor to balance it out. I added some red wine vinegar to the finished product, and it helped a lot. If I were to try it again, I would add a good amount of tomato along with the chard. Recipe as it is was a fail for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was delicious! I added some cumin but otherwise made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I was a little concerned that this might be a little bland...not at all! I added one extra garlic clove, just becuase I love garlic. I have 3 young children and they all loved it too. A winner for sure, and I will be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I opened a can of lentils by mistake the other day and needed a recipe to use them, plus some mushrooms and kale I had sitting in the fridge. This recipe fit the bill. I made half the recipe except I used a whole can of lentils. I steamed my kale for a few minutes before adding to the quinoa mix since it doesn't wilt as fast as chard. This was simple to make and tasty though it needed salt not called for in the recipe. I topped this will toasted almonds for some texture and served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Halved the ingredients, used dried wild mushrooms, rainbow chard (saute the stems with onion and garlic); added a dressing of olive oil, lemon, garlic and soy sauce at the very end....definitely needed the added kick of raw garlic and lemon. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Made this a couple of times and always got good reviews. May be worth adding some salt, especially if the vegetable broth is low sodium, but otherwise a great recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
"Great, if you enjoy hamster food." That is what my 6 year old daughter said as we prepared the meal. By the way, her bowl was empty after a hearty serving. Simple and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni Rogers
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is an awesome recipe base, so I'm giving it 5, even though I made major alterations. I did not use lentils (I used whatever canned beans I had on hand - kidney once, pinto the other time) and I didn't use mushrooms, as my family is not keen on them. I used veggie broth the first time (yummy! but needed some sea salt and freshly ground pepper at serving) and robust chicken stock the second time (delish!). There's a lot of wiggle room with this recipe. Take it and run with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was delicious and extremely flavorful! Granted, I had to make several changes just because I was working with I had on hand. No mushrooms, so sauteed broccoli and added it last minute instead. I used about 5-6cloves of garlic cause you can't have too much. Had dry lentils (1cup) so cooked those separate for 15mins in water and chicken bullion cause I didn't think they'd fit in my pot. I am very new to cooking and had no idea how quinoa cooks (expand quite a bit FYI to fellow new cookers). Also steamed chard separate for same reason. When there was about 5 mins left on the quinoa, I drained lentils and added them to quinoa to absorb some of the broth (I forgot to decrease chicken stock when I didn't add lentils at start). This was my first experience with quinoa and it will now be a staple in my cooking. So easy, healthy and very filling! Excellent high protein, high fiber, low fat meal! My boyfriend and I had just this as a meal and barely made a dent in the pot. Thank you for an excellent recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Ok, I'm giving this 4 stars but in all fairness I didn't really really follow the recipe. First I fried a small amount of bacon and then carmelized the onions over low heat in the bacon grease. I also added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes to the onions for a kick. I followed the recipe after that except to leave out the mushrooms and add two bay leaves to the liquid. I added the bacon with the chard. My husband and I can't get enough! Toasted walnuts would be a delicious addition as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States