Quinoa Chard Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
First I have to warn: this makes a LOT. I think it's more than 8 servings. That being said, it was really very good. Even my kids liked it which is always a surprise. The only think I (personally) would like it is more swiss chard in it. What I did was a steamed the chard stems separately and added them to my dish. I love chard and this made the recipe perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very tasty! Like most others, I made some substitutions. Added more garlic, used garbanzos instead of lentils, also added a can of diced tomatoes with basil and oregano. I also used the stems of the chard - have to get all the good stuff in there! Definitely a keeper, especially given how versatile it was. Didn't need the whole quart of broth, though - took me longer than expected to get the liquid to boil down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Loved this!! Fed this is my boyfriend and he was also impressed. Our new favorite meatless meal! Made some modifications.... I sauteed the swiss chard stems in the beginning w/ the onion. It game the whole dish a kind of redish huge. Other commenters mentioned it was bit bland so I added two small peppers, a bay leaf, basil, and oregano. Not bland at all! Also, left out the mushrooms. Super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
My family loved this! Super tasty. Love the texture. And pretty filling. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe. I made this as a side for dinner with a group of friends, and it was a unilateral hit, two people asked me for the recipe! Like many people, I used what I had around, and swapped in red quinoa, and spinach for the chard, but the basic flavour and texture combination remained the same. This will certainly become a go-to recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good healthy recipe! I always add a hodgepodge of whatever vegetables I have around to the mix. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
So, I'm a member of a CSA this year for the first time, and I'm trying to find ways to work new veggies into my diet. And I didn't like Chard the first time I tried it, and i'd never ever tried Quinoa. This recipe has become a staple, quite literally, in my diet. It's become a joke at work, because everyone wants to see what variation I've done this week! But this starting point is excellent! It's on the stove right now, chard a'wilting, getting ready to take for lunch tomorrow. I've added black beans, lima beans, kale, tomatoes, and i usu omit the mushrooms because they're not a favorite of mine. But it is hard to beat the way it's written. Thank you for this recipe. I don't remember what i used to have for lunch before i found it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIEMAY84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
An excellent milder side dish to accompany a meat with stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Update: I make this every year now. I now add a red and yellow bell pepper for color, and I've recently discovered it looks prettier with red quinoa rather than regular. I always used dried lentils.::: This was great for my over abundance of home grown Rainbow Chard. The chard is very tender compared to storebought, which might make a difference in the taste for some. Canned lentils aren't available at my grocery, so I've used canned pigeon peas or dry lentils. I put the chopped stems in with the garlic/onions, and I've been known to sprinkle it with parmesan, at someone else's suggestion. Recently I doubled the recipe and used 2 Cups quinoa, and 2 Cups of couscous. The couscous was cooked separately and stirred in with the chard. No matter how many servings you make, there's a ton and it's better the next day after the flavors meld. There will always be people begging for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Good recipe - looks bland, but looks are deceiving because it's pretty flavorful. May add one more garlic clove next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States