Quinoa Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Full of flavors! I did make a few changes-added cauliflower to the broccoli to equal about 2.5 cups; instead of cream of mushroom soup, melted 1T butter with 1T flour then added 3/4 c veggie broth and 1/2 c half and half and simmered for 5 minutes; instead of french-fried onions I used 1/2 c chopped onion, and topped the whole dish with homemade seasoned bread crumbs. We will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My husband, stepson and I all loved it and went back for seconds. Definitely will become one of our regulars. I halved the amound of fried onions to cut down on fat and calories and opted for 1 medium onion sauteed in a little olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Excellent taste. Not much difference between this and a broccoli/cheese or green bean casserole. Instead of the additional french onions on the top, I used some bread crumbs and added them the last five minutes of cooking as directed. I used maybe 1/3 cup. I just trimmed and steamed the broccoli by placing it in a bowl with a bit of water and cling wrap over the top for 3 min in the microwave. Does the same thing as a steamer insert. I'll use more broccoli next time as I don't think 2 c. is enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I thought the recipe was very good. I however use a lot of spice. So I added 2 chopped cloves of garlic, 1/4 teaspoon of tarragon, 1 tsp of parsley, 1 tsp of basil, and used homemade chicken stock for the Quinoa. My family ate it all. I have two girls 14, and 11 and they asked next time to make more. :) So it was successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good. Something different than the boring, standby rice casserole. The only substitutions I made were to cook the quinoa in chicken stock (as I usually do), and I topped with bread crumb topping for the last 5 minutes of baking instead of more onions. This is one of those "flexible" recipes.....easy to add your favourite veggies and spices. Will definitely be making this again, but will add 2-3 large cloves of garlic (chopped) next time. We are meat eaters in this house so this is a side dish for us, but it could easily be made into a one pot meal by adding shredded, cooked chicken. I gave it 4 stars because it needs garlic, the kids weren't too fond of it (but to be fair this recipe is very similar to the rice version, which they don't like) and because the presentation is, well, "looks like slop" my husband said. But its yummy slop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
LOVE, LOVE LOVE it! Although I made some changes. I sauteed onions, red, orange and yellow peppers and then added the quinoa. I used broccoli, cauliflower and carrots because that was all I had. We had 2 meals out of it and Quinoa will now be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Yummy! I used plain greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. I cooked the quinoa chicken broth for more flavor. I added some extra mushrooms I had in the fridge. I forgot to add lemon pepper and it was still great. I did not have any fried onions so I used bread crumbs instead. Thank you for sharing, I will definetly make this again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Very yummy!! I might have cooked the quinoa a bit less next time because I like it a bit more 'poppy' or crunchy, but I enjoyed it much better than regular rice and I am a big fan of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very good. I used breadcrumbs on top instead of additional onions and added an extra cup of broccoli. I'll definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
A lovely and different side dish (or for me, an entree'/one dish meal)! I doubled the recipe, but forgot to add the second can of soup--it turned out OK, and maybe the other can of soup would've made it too salty? I thought the lemon pepper taste was a little funky--next time I prepare I'll just use fresh ground pepper, and if missing flavor maybe add fresh squeezed lemon. Easy to modify for even lower sodium and fat based on ingredients used...a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States