Quinoa Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Full of flavors! I did make a few changes-added cauliflower to the broccoli to equal about 2.5 cups; instead of cream of mushroom soup, melted 1T butter with 1T flour then added 3/4 c veggie broth and 1/2 c half and half and simmered for 5 minutes; instead of french-fried onions I used 1/2 c chopped onion, and topped the whole dish with homemade seasoned bread crumbs. We will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My husband, stepson and I all loved it and went back for seconds. Definitely will become one of our regulars. I halved the amound of fried onions to cut down on fat and calories and opted for 1 medium onion sauteed in a little olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Excellent taste. Not much difference between this and a broccoli/cheese or green bean casserole. Instead of the additional french onions on the top, I used some bread crumbs and added them the last five minutes of cooking as directed. I used maybe 1/3 cup. I just trimmed and steamed the broccoli by placing it in a bowl with a bit of water and cling wrap over the top for 3 min in the microwave. Does the same thing as a steamer insert. I'll use more broccoli next time as I don't think 2 c. is enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I thought the recipe was very good. I however use a lot of spice. So I added 2 chopped cloves of garlic, 1/4 teaspoon of tarragon, 1 tsp of parsley, 1 tsp of basil, and used homemade chicken stock for the Quinoa. My family ate it all. I have two girls 14, and 11 and they asked next time to make more. :) So it was successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good. Something different than the boring, standby rice casserole. The only substitutions I made were to cook the quinoa in chicken stock (as I usually do), and I topped with bread crumb topping for the last 5 minutes of baking instead of more onions. This is one of those "flexible" recipes.....easy to add your favourite veggies and spices. Will definitely be making this again, but will add 2-3 large cloves of garlic (chopped) next time. We are meat eaters in this house so this is a side dish for us, but it could easily be made into a one pot meal by adding shredded, cooked chicken. I gave it 4 stars because it needs garlic, the kids weren't too fond of it (but to be fair this recipe is very similar to the rice version, which they don't like) and because the presentation is, well, "looks like slop" my husband said. But its yummy slop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
LOVE, LOVE LOVE it! Although I made some changes. I sauteed onions, red, orange and yellow peppers and then added the quinoa. I used broccoli, cauliflower and carrots because that was all I had. We had 2 meals out of it and Quinoa will now be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Very yummy!! I might have cooked the quinoa a bit less next time because I like it a bit more 'poppy' or crunchy, but I enjoyed it much better than regular rice and I am a big fan of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband and I LOVED this! My kids were not fans but they are very picky. Gonna try again though. This is on my top fav side dish go-to recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Good, but it seems like it needs more moisture. Also seems to be a funny taste with the lemon pepper. I'd try it again, but maybe add in a bit of milk or something to create more of a moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very good. I used breadcrumbs on top instead of additional onions and added an extra cup of broccoli. I'll definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States