Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
These burgers were excellent. I've made them 2x in the span of 2 weeks. I followed the recipe except for the hot pepper sauce (as I didn't have any on hand but I used Allrecipes' Common Ingredient Substition list and used 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1 tsp vinegar). The second time I only had green peppers and used that but it didn't change the taste or texture; I would feel confident using others suggestions to use shredded carrot or other vegetable. I paired these burgers with Burger or Hot Dog Buns by Sally. First time making the recipe I made 5 patties as the recipe called for (they were at least 3.5-4 inches in diameter) and baked in oven for 30 minutes. The second time, my Burger Buns came out slider size so I halved the size of the patties (came out with 10 small ones) and baked for 15 or so minutes. What I like about these burgers is they don't fall apart, they're easy to make and they taste much better than the frozen Morning Star Black Bean Burgers. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Really, really good! I used Sriracha sauce. Great 4th of July burger for those who go meatless! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Loved these vege burgers. I made a few changes, I added cilantro and turmeric I used carrots instead of pepper and baked at 375 an brown in pan after...these were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepa Singh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Even my husband liked these, but they don't stay together at all. I'm glad I abandoned my original idea to cook these on the grill! Next time I may try oatmeal like other reviewers did to help them stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Toddler approved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
We tried this last night and it was definitely what I was looking for. I love black bean burgers at restaurants and was hoping to find a homemade version that rivaled what the pros serve. I made it according to the recipe but set it on the BBQ with the "real" burgers. Granted they were very delicate and a bit tough to turn but overall a masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mellis710
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Great flavor. Next time I'm going to go a little lighter on the salt, but otherwise this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Loved these burgers! Made some changes based on what I had on hand, so for those of you that complain about people not sticking exactly to the recipe please stop reading now. Used a can of mixed beans - black, kidney and pinto, green pepper instead of yellow, 1/2 cup cooked quinoa instead of 1/4 cup, Panko bread crumbs, additional clove of garlic. I also baked them instead of frying - 350F for 20 minutes, flipped them and baked them an additional 15. I ended up with 5 nice sized patties. I will definitely be making these in the future, there is a lot of wiggle room in terms of ingredients and I'm excited to try some different kinds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I loved this recipe! They were delicious. Definitely might need something to make the patties more firm, but either way they held together and tasted great. I would recommend putting some flour on either side of the burgers before cooking them, so they don´t burn, but have a nice golden brown color. Pair it with spinach, fresh basil, tomato, mayo and honey dijon mustard for a nice finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Best bean burger recipe I have found yet! My husband gets excited everytime I make them and he is a meat lover. The only change I make is add the onion and garlic to the quinoa as it cooks in low sodium veggie broth or chicken broth. So good everytime and as someone else said the recipe is very forgiving. Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States