Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is the best vegetarian burger I've ever made! When I cook with quinoa, I usually use 1 part Quinoa to 2 parts water, so I double-checked the website where this recipe originated. It calls for 3/4 cup cooked quinoa, so you might want to adjust your recipe accordingly. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I used 3/4 of a cup of quinoa and got 8 regular sized patties, but I actually think 1/2 cup of quinoa is enough. I put them in the oven at 400 for 30 min. and they came out crunchy and tasty. I did not have yellow bell pepper so I used tomato, and garlic powder since I did not have garlic either. This recipe is very forgiving in terms of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 88gurl
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I was so excited about making these. This is my first attempt at making a veggie burger and they turned out great. Only made some small changes: I always use chicken stock instead of water to cook my quinoa. Substituted shredded carrot for the bell pepper, used 1 teaspoon of minced garlic, 2 teaspoons of Crystal hot sauce and used 1/2 2 egg portion of Egg Beaters instead of 1 egg. I baked first then browned in skillet w/olive oil. I melted thinly sliced low-fat cheddar cheese on top to get that 'cheeseburger' experience. Served on whole wheat toasted bread with mustard, tomato and spinach. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 88gurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Homewood, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Awesome! I substituted oatmeal for bread crumbs...otherwise I made them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Big Hit! These veggie burgers turned out better then any store bought variety, and even though I'm not a vegetarian (the boyfriend is) these were very satisfying. As others suggested I used oats rather then bread crumbs which made the consistency easy to cook and eat (as well as not adding too much sodium to the mix). I cooked the quinoa with a quarter cube of vegetarian bullion, and topped the burgers with homemade guacamole, fresh tomatoes and spring mix and served them on whole wheat kaiser rolls. Overall a very excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These are delicious and forgiving. Used green pepper (all I had) and rolled oats in place of bread crumbs (what I had). Chopped up some parsley and cilantro and added that for some color. Baked rather than fried. Served with sliced tomatoes, sliced red onion and sliced avocados with a little lime juice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I decided to make these burgers because I had most of the ingredients, I love black beans and I'm trying out quinoa recipes. All I have to say is they are absolutely delicious! I made them for my meat-loving husband and loved them! They are very filling too. I could only eat one and my husband had to work to finish two! This recipe was immediately added to the recipe book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! I read several reviews/suggestions first to help me adapt what I had on hand, and the recipe is, as pointed out by several, totally forgiving. I doubled the cooked quinoa amount, subbed old-fashioned rolled oats for bread crumbs, had to use reconstituted Penzey minced onion since I was out of fresh, and to make it VEGAN, I simply used 1 TBL ground chia seed mixed with 3 TBL water to replace the egg. The 1st time I made these, I had to use part green pepper and part red non-hot peppers growing in my deck containers, worked beautifully. Today, I actually had a yellow pepper, and I doubled the recipe using 1 can black beans and 1 can kidney beans (adds a nice reddish color), still used whole rolled oats and chia-egg sub.....the Frank's Hot Sauce is just the perfect amount, adds a lot of character with the cumin, without being too spicy. Be sure to mix with hands as suggested. This recipe is a KEEPER. I doubled it today in hopes of having enough to freeze, if my husband does not eat them all today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I've never had vegetarian burgers before, so I was kind of skeptical. But since I (like usual) was looking for a recipe to use extra pantry items (black beans, bread crumbs), I was excited to discover that these were great! They are much healthier than "regular" burgers, plus they are WAY cheaper. We used organic everything for ingredients, and there's no way it would come close to the cost of organic meat! The cumin & hot sauce was a delicious extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These were the best bean burgers ever (way better than any I'd ever purchased or made myself.) You could make this to suit your own tastes, or to use what you have on hand. I subbed a can of organic navy beans for the black beans, used 1/2 of a green pepper instead of yellow, upped the onion and garlic, and ground some organic stuffing mix in my mini food processor to replace the bread crumbs (I also doubled the bread to make sure they would bind together.) I added about 2 teaspoons of vegetarian worchester sauce, and left out the cumin. I also subbed the egg with ground flax seed (works every time!) Then I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes per side. I got 5 nice sized burgers, and served them on homemade buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States