Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have tried making black bean burgers before and they just fell apart. These stayed together like a true burger and they taste terrific. Even my skeptical husband was impressed! Only change was to add jalapeno because we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I recently gave up soy and am also a vegetarian so I was searching for a recipe to make my own burgers and tried this one. UNBELIEVABLY delicious! Even my little girls are it up. I did make just a couple changes, I was trying to find a way to use my juicer pulp since I ALWAYS have it on hand from my daily drinks, so instead of yellow pepper I used 1/4 cup of carrot/celery pulp. You couldn't see it or taste it! I think I'll try adding more next time. I also minced up some mushrooms and added that too. After adding ingredients into my fitness pal it was only 117 calories each burger (I made 6). Can't wait to make a triple recipe and freeze some for quick easy meals. THANK YOU for this recipe! Oh yea, I cooked mine in my too-fancy-for-me convection microwave on the roast feature using a high rack for15 min each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I really liked this and so did my picky daughter! I used ground rolled oats instead of bread crumbs, egg substitute (Egg Beaters), and also mushrooms instead of bell pepper. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I really wanted to like these as I'm interested in eating more healthy, but nobody at the table finished their burger except me. I'm guessing you have to be a vegetarian to fully appreciate these. I did use these on my salad the next day, but I don't plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YoungWife
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These are FANTASTIC! I modified it a bit- I ised
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Great recipe- as some other reviewers mentioned, in order to make this vegan, I had to substitute the egg with chia seed paste (1 tbl spoon chia seed powder + 3 t/l spoons water blended). Also substituted oats for bread crumbs...husband went back for thirds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Delicious!! I cooked up some organic jasmine rice and ate it in a whole wheat wrap, with burger broken up inside. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
These were SO much better than my other veggie burger recipes!!! I couldn't believe how well they held together, or how flavorful they were! I made them exactly as written, except that I substituted old-fashioned oats for the bread crumbs and omitted the egg, because the mixture was already pretty sticky. I also baked them at 400 degrees for 25 minutes on a lightly greased cookie sheet, turning them halfway through cooking-time, and I finished them off by topping them with almond cheddar and broiling them for 1 minute. I'm tossing out my old veggie burger recipes and replacing them with this one! Easy, good for you and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Tried this using steel cut oatmeal and egg whites. The burger did not hold together well, so I "cemented" it to the bun with a slice of Monterey Jack cheese. Very tasty. Will use whole egg and bread crumbs next time, just to see if the firmness improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made as written, baked at 375 for 25 min. Terrific recipe. Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States