Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
These turned out perfect! We left out the peppers and hot sauce, but the consistency and flavor were great. We will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These beanie burgers are quick and simple to make, provide high quality protein, have a firm texture, and taste mighty good. Rather than water, used chicken stock for cooking the quinoa. Used panko for the bread crumbs. To brown the patties on the outside, lightly misted a pan w/ olive oil to avoid using 3 tablespoons of oil per the recipe. The patties held firmly together while cooking but I dried the beans with a paper towel after rinsing and draining them, and also placed the patties in the freezer for 15 minutes before cooking them. Like some other reviewers commented, the cooked patties tended to crumble easier than real burgers when placed in a bun with fixings but still more cohesive than other eating experiences w/ veggie burgers. Pita or flat bread would make it easier to eat. Many omnivores will enjoy eating these beanie burgers which helps if cooking for those who are vegetarians and those who are not. While doubtful most omnivores will eliminate eating a grilled juicy hamburger because of these faux burgers, it’s nice to have a wide array of recipes to keep things interesting. Thank you Laura and Leslie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This is delicious. I'm eating it right now. My carnivore husband who also doesn't like homemade burgers OR quinoa "mmm"-ed and "oh my gosh"-ed the whole time. It's super flavorful, and goes good with red wine. I cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I fully agree with the 5-star rating! These black bean burgers are incredibly delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. (I was afraid they wouldn't "stick" together well, but they did.) I have been a vegetarian for eight months and can't remember the last time I had a hamburger. These definitely satisfied my craving. Oh, one thing I did differently is I made the beans from dried. By soaking them overnight, then boiling them for two minutes, rinsing the beans and the pot as well and repeating, you avoid the gas usually produced by beans! This technique works with all beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
FANTASTIC! Omitted the hot sauce (giving it to my little three-year olds) and substituted rolled oats for bread crumbs as recommended. Delicious. I'm going to have the left overs tomorrow morning with a side of fried eggs. Thank you so much for a delicious and nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I was craving a burger, but didn't want to consume the meat. Found this recipe and it helped with my craving. Will definitely be making this again. Hint, I diced up a couple mushrooms and added them to the mixture. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
WOW!!! These are amazingly good... I'm a meat a potatoes guy and I'm trying to change my diet. I tried making these and can't believe how tasty these are. I made 4 with the recipe added cheese and black olives after cooking. I will definitely make these again after I eat the other 3. I'd even go so far as saying that I'd rather eat these than a beef burger any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great recipe. Interesting texture-if you are expecting a "hamburger" consistency, this might take some getting used to, but it is surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I used vegetable broth instead of just water. I also put in a cap full of liquid smoke to the patties. Very good recipe. Kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States