Quinoa and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was an excellent soup!!! I made it 2 wknds in a row. i used veg broth and the second time i made it i added 2 chopped fresh tomatoes and 2 zucchini since i wanted to use them up. I have shared this recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very Good! I just made this soup, very very good and good for you. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Awesome recipe....even the kids ate it, nice a filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was great! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delicious! A great soup for a cold winter night. Very satisfying and very nutritious, except for the very high sodium content. Try using low sodium broth, or do what I did and make your own. I am trying to eat more vegetarian meals, so I substituted vegetable broth, using the World's Greatest Vegetable Broth recipe from this site. This decreased the sodium content very significantly over buying canned broth. I also used dried kidney beans instead of canned. I cooked about 1/2 cup of them to equal one can. This is also a very economical meal and makes a lot. And on top of all this, it is low calorie. You can't go wrong: low cal, highly nutritious, filling and satisfying, and economical too! All in one delicious recipe. Serve with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I had such high hopes for this soup. It smelled great, but it was way too bland. And it was way too soupy! I think only one 32 oz carton of chicken stock is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very easy and solid soup recipe. I agreed with PNH2B's review which stated it came out a bit bland and too their suggestion and cut the broth in half using only one 32oz box. I also used low sodium vegetable broth instead of the chicken. I think the soup turned out great and I'm looking forward to using it again and again. I added fresh avocado as a garnish- I also think adding some tapatio or tabasco would be yummy! Thank you for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved it, my husband said It was the best soup he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I love this recipe because it makes me feel good with no bloating like high-sodium or creamy soups can cause. I made my own broth just by boiling veggies and some chicken parts. The mistake I made was using red cabbage because I had some to use up and my soup turned purple. It's not the most appetizing color. Also, I left out the tomatoes and kidney beans and added some seasoned chicken pieces at the beginning with the celery and onions. I cooked the chicken through before adding the stock, etc. It's the perfect afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This soup was amazing. We are vegetarian, so I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I was slightly worried it would affect the taste, but it was delicious. Instead of red kidney beans, I used white. I also added diced zucchini, as some of the other reviewers suggested. And because a lot of people said it was too "soupy", I doubled the quinoa. Next time I won't add as much, but over all everyone was REALLY pleased, and I will for sure be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erae84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States