Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was my first experience with Quinoa. I was very hesitant to it because of the mixed reviews I was getting. This recipe was so amazing that it was directly put in my recipe book and will stay there forever. I made a few tweaks to the recipe. I added only one can of black beans and added more spices (but i love spicy food.) I also used just plain water and added in an extra 1/4 cup. You dont have to use vegetable both water works just as nice and is free. I also just added a whole can of corn instead of just a cup. I also added one cup of quinoa and two cups of water. This recipe is so good and i made pork shanks with it they complimented each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My 10 year old daughter asked me to PLEASE give this dish a 5 star review. I agree, so here it is! I took the advise of other reviewers and added just one can of black beans, which was perfect for us. One reviewer said she used paprika instead of cayenne so her young child would eat it. I added both, and loved the addition of paprika! I probably used a 1/2 tsp, maybe a bit more. I also took the advise of other reviewers who waited to add the garlic until about 1/2 way through cooking the onion. I also added the quinoa to toast a bit before adding the spices, then finally, the liquid. Yummy toasty flavors developed this way. I baked 3 chicken breasts in balsamic vinaigrette (Costco Kirkland brand) for 30 minutes while I prepared the quinoa dish. I cut up the chicken into bit size pieces, and lightly tossed it into the quinoa dish. I served it in bowls and topped with grated cheddar cheese, sour cream and salsa. Easy dish! done in 40 minutes tops! Next time I would add sliced avocado as a garnish per my daughters request. Honestly, there are so many great ways you could vary this dish. Thank you so much for sharing this economical, easy and tasty recipe! That meets all of my criteria for the perfect dinner! We had no left overs, but I think the dish would be great for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was a single pan dish that was absolutely delicious! Easy to make in 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Easy to make. A success for the whole family. Leftovers were great for lunch, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Bache
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Followed this recipe but only added 1 can of black beans and didn't have cilantro so I added chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Bache

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
i really enjoyed this recipe. i substituded 2 bay leaves and a tsp thyme instead of using vegetable stock. i used water. didnt want the msg came out great .also 1 can of beans - vivianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Loved it! I added some salsa and lime at the table and loved it even more. Would probably make a really good burrito filling. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Loved this! Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reneé Salzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommyshopper1
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Love it!! We used olive oil and skipped the corn the first time. We added one poblano pepper to onion/garlic mixture. Added spices included garlic and onion powder and a dash of hot sauce. We added one drained can of diced tomatoes to beans. This is so versatile. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States