Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I'd never even heard of quinoa, much less cooked with it, so I followed the recipe exactly. My husband and toddler and I all loved it! I halved the amount to avoid a bunch of left-overs if we didn't like it. I served it as a meatless main dish and it we ate it all. I thought the proportion of beans-quinoa-corn was perfect. This is the sort of recipe you can play around with the seasonings to suit that of your family's preference. Definitely a keeper! Next time I'll make the whole amount so we can have leftovers since other reviewers noted that the leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This is delicious. I sprinkled chopped cilantro over the finished product each time I served it to make it taste fresher. Great to take to work for lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
My wife & I love this recipe, I have now made it twice. We serve it as a main course along with a veggie, very satisfying. I think the proportions of beans/corn/quinoa is quite nice so didn't adjust them; I did add a bit more cayenne pepper to give it a bit more kick. Next time I will double the recipe as it is so good as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I thought this was excellent and very easy. I found the amount of beans just right. I did add a little more cayenne, as well as a generous splash of cider vinegar at the end. Also, as I am not a fan of cilantro, I used the same amount of chives instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
excellent way to make quinoa. I do recommend sorting through the dry grains before cooking, just like you would sort through dry beans or lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This one's a winner - definitely a permanant addition to my recipe box. Do halve the beans - and yes, this is a wonderful burrito filling, especially with some melted monterey jack cheese. Make enough for leftovers, as it's better the 2nd and 3rd days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This was a very exellent recipe! Unfortunately I had to substitute millet for the quinoa because our local grocery was out but it still came out wonderful. Tasted great wrapped like a taco in in lettuce leaves. Can't wait to try it again with quinoa! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is a great recipe. This is the first time I have made quinoa. Everyone really loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is a permanent addition to my menu. I use just one can of beans and omit the cilantro but the Southwest flavor still shines. I've used it as taco filling, it makes delicious burritoes, and is a great dip for the new guacamole Doritoes. It keeps for days and just gets better for sitting in the fridge. Thank you for such a wonderful and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,085) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States