Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Mmm... Even my pickiest eater went back for seconds. This is a great lunch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I was a little reluctant to try this recipe because of all the rice and bean recipes I've tried with cumin and cayenne pepper... the spices always seemed to be far too strong. This recipe, however, is perfect! The ratio of spices is just right - not at all bland but not overpowering in the slightest. I only used one can of beans and upped the corn to 1.5 cups to partially make up for it. My husband, my 13-month-old and I all just gobbled it up! This is definitely one that I will make again and again. Thank you 3LIONCUBS!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I feel like it was missing something. Next time, I'm going to try adding tomatoes and see if that will make it go from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I should have made a quadruple batch for the party! I couldn't believe how quickly this disappeared. I made it the night before and served it chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Loved this recipe. I did substitute canned corn instead of frozen, but otherwise did as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Mabank, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
we all really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
We tend to eat mostly vegetarian and this is our go-to taco filling. We usually cut back on the beans to 1 can and add extra cilantro because we like it so much. I will typically use some chipotle powder if we're in the mood for some more spice. We also use 1 cup quinoa and a whole 15 oz can of vegetable broth. Also use olive or coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Little modifications aside, this is a great side but stands out for us as taco filling and I eat it cold on top of a salad the next day since it always makes leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I loved this recipe so much! It is quick and easy to make, although I would make it without cilantro next time as its flavour doesn't go well with the spices. I also did not follow the recipe directions the same. I first started out by cooking my quinoa in water and while that was cooking I sautéed my onions and garlic. NOTE: Put your garlic in when your onions are halfway done cooking of the garlic will burn!. Once the quinoa was done I put it into a large bowl, added the onion.garlic mixture, my corn, and I used kidney beans because I did not have black beans, I added my spices and cilantro. I decided to mix it all together and put it in the fridge to eat it chilled and let the flavours marry. Overall it was a lovely recipe, just next time I will not be using cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this yesterday and we loved it! Here's what I changed: subbed evoo for veg oil, added and cooked mushrooms before putting in the quinoa, mixed the seasoning together (added 1 tsp oregano, used 1 tsp of salt and pepper too) and stirred it into the onion/garlic mixture to coat before adding quinoa. Added rotisserie shredded chicken when the corn and beans go in. Used 1 can of beans only. Topped with avocado, Tapatio, and sour cream. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tie guy
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was great just as it is , will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,056) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States