Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
we all really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
We tend to eat mostly vegetarian and this is our go-to taco filling. We usually cut back on the beans to 1 can and add extra cilantro because we like it so much. I will typically use some chipotle powder if we're in the mood for some more spice. We also use 1 cup quinoa and a whole 15 oz can of vegetable broth. Also use olive or coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Little modifications aside, this is a great side but stands out for us as taco filling and I eat it cold on top of a salad the next day since it always makes leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I loved this recipe so much! It is quick and easy to make, although I would make it without cilantro next time as its flavour doesn't go well with the spices. I also did not follow the recipe directions the same. I first started out by cooking my quinoa in water and while that was cooking I sautéed my onions and garlic. NOTE: Put your garlic in when your onions are halfway done cooking of the garlic will burn!. Once the quinoa was done I put it into a large bowl, added the onion.garlic mixture, my corn, and I used kidney beans because I did not have black beans, I added my spices and cilantro. I decided to mix it all together and put it in the fridge to eat it chilled and let the flavours marry. Overall it was a lovely recipe, just next time I will not be using cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this yesterday and we loved it! Here's what I changed: subbed evoo for veg oil, added and cooked mushrooms before putting in the quinoa, mixed the seasoning together (added 1 tsp oregano, used 1 tsp of salt and pepper too) and stirred it into the onion/garlic mixture to coat before adding quinoa. Added rotisserie shredded chicken when the corn and beans go in. Used 1 can of beans only. Topped with avocado, Tapatio, and sour cream. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tie guy
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was great just as it is , will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Love this! We aren't vegetarians but have mixed this into the rotation as often as spaghetti. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
First time making this I made for a dinner party/open house for 50 people! It received rave reviews and out of the huge quantity I made I had two servings left. The fresh cilantro is a must as it makes the flavors pop. Second time I made it for a smaller dinner party and had enough left for my husband to take to work as leftovers...I guess that makes it a hit! I did not have vegetable broth and substituted with organic chicken broth and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
So easy to make and my whole family loves it!! I added red, orange and yellow bell peppers to it and it was amazing!! I may add mushrooms and/or zucchini next time. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I created an account just so I could give my opinion. In one word DELICIOUS!!! I put only half of the cayenne pepper but otherwise followed the recipe. I will definitely make this again. My 10 year old loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very flavorful. We love black beans, so 2 cans was just right. Especially if you are eating this as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,092) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States