Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This dish was quick, very easy, super filling, and even my super picky husband liked it! I used freeze dried garlic and red onion (my husband doesn't like onion, and that's the only way I can sneak it in) but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I recommend serving with a little sour cream, hot sauce, and salsa! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe makes it easy for my kids and I to eat vegan! I have made this over 20 times and it is perfect just as it is written, although I do usually double the amount of cumin and add 2 teaspoons of curry powder. I have also made all types of substitutions based on what I have on hand. Rather than corn I have used peas and carrots. I also have used edamame rather than corn. If I want a little less sodium I have replaced half of the vegetable broth with water. At times I also use one can of black beans rather than two. It is very difficult to mess up this delicious recipe! It tastes great warm or cold. P.S. To rinse off the bitter taste of the quinoa, do not forget to soak the quinoa in water for a few minutes before you begin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I didn't have cilantro on hand...so I used 1/2 tsp basil! Turned out great!!! Will be a regular side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Cheap, easy and delicious. Will recommend. I'm a bit of a newb, so I didn't deviate from the recipe at all. Will try some suggestions from the comments in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Great flavor! I used frozen chopped onion and bell pepper instead of just onion. I also just used one can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe! While the quinoa and other ingredients were simmering, I added the chopped cilantro the last 4 minutes of cooking time to give it added flavor. Also, I only used 1 can of black beans as I thought 1 was sufficient. Didn't have frozen corn so added 1 small can of corn instead. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent. I've been looking for a vegan recipe to take for Thanksgiving dinner so I'd have protein and that the rest of the family will like. I did a test run this evening. Thought I had black beans but was out so I used red beans. Still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Humphries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was my first experience with Quinoa. I was very hesitant to it because of the mixed reviews I was getting. This recipe was so amazing that it was directly put in my recipe book and will stay there forever. I made a few tweaks to the recipe. I added only one can of black beans and added more spices (but i love spicy food.) I also used just plain water and added in an extra 1/4 cup. You dont have to use vegetable both water works just as nice and is free. I also just added a whole can of corn instead of just a cup. I also added one cup of quinoa and two cups of water. This recipe is so good and i made pork shanks with it they complimented each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My 10 year old daughter asked me to PLEASE give this dish a 5 star review. I agree, so here it is! I took the advise of other reviewers and added just one can of black beans, which was perfect for us. One reviewer said she used paprika instead of cayenne so her young child would eat it. I added both, and loved the addition of paprika! I probably used a 1/2 tsp, maybe a bit more. I also took the advise of other reviewers who waited to add the garlic until about 1/2 way through cooking the onion. I also added the quinoa to toast a bit before adding the spices, then finally, the liquid. Yummy toasty flavors developed this way. I baked 3 chicken breasts in balsamic vinaigrette (Costco Kirkland brand) for 30 minutes while I prepared the quinoa dish. I cut up the chicken into bit size pieces, and lightly tossed it into the quinoa dish. I served it in bowls and topped with grated cheddar cheese, sour cream and salsa. Easy dish! done in 40 minutes tops! Next time I would add sliced avocado as a garnish per my daughters request. Honestly, there are so many great ways you could vary this dish. Thank you so much for sharing this economical, easy and tasty recipe! That meets all of my criteria for the perfect dinner! We had no left overs, but I think the dish would be great for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States