Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Delicious! Loved these spices with the quinoa, black beans and veggies. I decided to use 2 cans of tomatoes instead of 1 to make it more smooth and moist. I also added about 2 tbsp. of fresh garlic. My husband finally didn't mind a "vegetarian" chili! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I absolutely loved this. Added some yellow squash and celery. It was so good I didn't even add cheese to it! Healthy and delicious, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
We really liked this. I had to add quite a bit more liquid (I used veggie stock) as it was way too thick to simmer, but I really enjoyed the flavor. I did use more than 1T of the chipotle in adobe sauce, more like 1/2 of the small can, but we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. We've made it 3 times so far. I use a food processor to speed up all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I wasn't that impressed with this recipe. It wasn't a hearty chili like I was expecting. It turned out a bit spicy and I think there was a too much quinoa. If I make this again, I will probably make some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemeCa416

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is my new favorite chili! The quinoa is great. We make it in the rice cooker before adding it to the chili. Couldn't be easier. I love the added protein for my veggie kids. One thing we noticed (we've made this twice) was that the zucchini gives this a strange feeling when it's in chunks. Diced wasn't small enough, so the second time we shredded it. This was perfect. I could eat this every week. Of course, we do serve it with a little sour cream and a sprinkle of cheese. Probably kills the calorie count, but it's sooo good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Amazing! This recipe is a keeper. I will certainly make it again. This time I did not add chipotle peppers or corn. The recipe does yield a lot of food - I took it to a pot luck so that was great. Everyone (including the meat eaters) really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this last night on the fly because I didn't put any meat out to thaw. I had all the ingredients in pantry which is always a bonus. I don't keep crushed tomatoes but used petite diced instead. I also only used red pepper because green doesn't like me. This came together very easily. I did have to add about a cup of water to get the consistency I like. I also did not put the quinoa into the chili instead I put it in the bottom of the bowl and ladled the chili on top. This made a HUGE amount of food which surprised me. Super economical to make. It was very filling too. The taste was spot on and the chipotle added a really nice smokey flavor to the dish. The chipotle are spicy and I found I didn't need to add hot sauce to the dish which rarely happens. Thanks for sharing such a great dish. I will make this again for sure. It exceeded my expectations and we did not miss the meat one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was an excellent veggie chili recipe! I cooked the quinoa in veg broth and added a cup or two to the chili to thin it out. I also left out the zucchini, as I do not care for it, and substituted diced green chilis for the chipotle pepper since that's what I had available. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was absolutely amazing. It had the perfect amount of spice, and was really flavorful. Out of personal preference, I took out the zucchini and added carrots instead. I also added an extra can of tomato soup and a bit of water as it was really thick. Came to a perfect consistency. Will definitely be making this again in the future, thanks for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States