Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
A yummy soup with the healthy vegetables for nutrients, quinoa for protein and bulk, and beans for fiber and protein. I like that there is no meat, and of course one could choose to add meat if they wanted. I added a small bit of sour cream to my serving and crumbled up tortilla chips on top. A winner in my book. The flavors are subtle, which is how I like it. You can add heat with extra peppers or ground cayenne pepper, tabasco, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Schwartz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Fantastic Recipe! Tons of flavor; very healthy and filling, and not salty at all. I'm not a vegetarian, but I don't miss the meat at all. I really like all of the veggies here; and this is a great way to introduce quinoa to those who don't particularly care for the flavor when served plain. My husband really doesn't like quinoa, but he didn't mind it in here at all! This is very thick and hearty, and makes plenty of leftovers! I saved some for the next day, and froze the rest. Highly recommend--give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! I threw everything in a slow cooker (omitting the oil), including uncooked quinoa (make sure to rinse quinoa if not pre-rinsed). I used 2 cups of chicken stock rather than water and canned corn rather than frozen. Cooked on low for at least 5 or 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was great! We will be making this again! As another reviewer mentioned, I also added an extra can of tomato sauce as well as an extra chipotle pepper since we like spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
my first quinoa recipe and it's pretty good.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very blan. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mypart912
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Cut this down to 5 servings, used olive oil and wonderful (inexpensive) canned diced tomatoes with green chilies. Tasty, filling, and muy flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Delicious!!!! Have made this several times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Holey Moley, this was fantastic! I made it per the recipe with only a few exceptions. Like many other reviewers, I cooked my quinoa in vegetable broth to give it more flavor. I added the juice of one lime after all other ingredients were simmering. Then I served it with sliced avocado and it was perfect. Rarely does my husband and 18yo son give me a two thumbs up for a vegan meal, but they did for this meal. I will be returning to this meal over and over again. I only wish I had found this recipe during football season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is a great meal if you have hungry men (or women) in your house. It filled my husband up while one large bowl. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States