Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I give this a 5 because it is a great recipe that you can tweak based on the ingredients you have in your fridge and pantry. I added to this recipe a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes and sweet italian sausage and both my husband and I loved it and he is not a huge chili person. I didn't have any chipotles in adobe sauce on hand and used chipotle chili powder. I also swapped the zucchini for an extra cup of frozen corn because it's what I had on hand. This will definitely become a winter staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made this recipe yesterday. I was looking for a recipe that used quinoa and came across this one. It has a really great flavor and overall I enjoyed it. However, I did feel like it need a bit of crunch, so I am starting to think of other things to serve it with and will probably try something other than zucchini next time. I think the zucchini added to the "mush" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great recipe for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. Adjustments I made: added 1 can of mushrooms (drained), added about 1.5 cups of water to get the consistency I like, added 1 Knorr chipotle cube. Used 1 can kidney and 1 can black beans (just for variety). I skipped the corn, jalapenos and chipotle. This is my go-to chili recipe now! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
this was delicious! i had to leave out a couple of things, as i didn't have them on hand, but will be sure to include them in the next batch. i also added extra chipotle- loved the smokey flavor! will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Just made this today and it was easy and great. My husband, whose favorite food is "meat," even liked it! I made some adjustments like others who have reviewed the recipe. I used one can of kidney beans and one can of black beans. Also, since I do not like traditional bell peppers, I doubled up the zucchini and added one yellow squash too. I used a couple of different "hot" peppers, but I took most of the seeds out, so the flavor wouldn't be too overwhelming and I cut up a little cilantro to balance it out. Lastly, I added mushrooms too for additional thickness (I added them at the end with the quinoa and corn). For garnish, I added shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream. Very satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLS77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was beautiful and delicious! My 4 year old told me to make it again tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent! Made this recipe for a vegetarian option for a birthday party (we had meat chili too). Everyone loved it. I used the chicken stock to prepare the quinoa as someone had recommended. I also used fire roasted diced tomatoes, and added some fresh tomatillos from the garden with the zucchini and used green onions rather than regular. Finally, i used an extra poblano chili seeded and diced! Great recipe, very filling and good for leftovers too. Really easy if you do all of your chopping ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe was delicious and filling - my husband and I both loved it! Made a couple of changes based on what I had available in my kitchen - I only had 1 can of black beans, so I added a can of kidney beans as well. Yellow pepper instead of red, and I didn't have zucchini, jalapeño, chipotle OR oregano so I added in one 4 oz can of green chilies and I felt like the flavor was good (especially since I prefer a less spicy chili). Also, had canned corn instead of frozen on hand. I feel like this is a fairly flexible recipe - using what I had it still turned out very yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was very good; I did add a can of fire roasted tomatoes to the crushed tomatoes because there wasn't enough liquid for the veggies I had in there. I also then added a small can of diced tomatoes (I like a chunkier sauce). Left out the jalapeno - don't really like them & I don't like things TOO spicy. That said, I ended up putting in too many chipotle peppers in the adobo sauce - that made it MUCH too spicy - fortunately I had put in LESS cumin & oregano than it called for. No one else in my family will eat, but I still like it - although too spicy, it's VERY good - I'll make it again though, keeping in mind not to overdo the chipotles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Awesome. Followed recipe as written, served with a little light sour cream. Perfectly balanced spice and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States