Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Excellent flavors and very simple. Super healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I love this recipe! I never added the peppers b/c they were always sold out at my grocery store. This recipe is awesome! I'm sure even better with peppers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It was yummy! I added 1 1/2 lbs of ground chuck. Instead of zucchini I added yellow squash. I cooked quinoa in beef bouillon to give it extra flavor. I added 1 can of rotel Tomatoes. I used can corn instead of frozen and I also added a can of tomato sauce. My hubby said this is totally a keeper. We will add to our recipes to re-make. We made some cornbread to go with. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
The cardiologist said I need to eat better, but I loves me some chili so I tried this. I left out the corn and cooked the quinoa in sodium free beef broth. I like it quite bold so I upped the seasonings substantially, used low sodium salt and put in some of my secret chili ingredient (cocoa powder) and if it didn't taste almost as good as . I also toasted the quinoa to bring out the nuttiness. I did add a little water several times to keep it from getting too thick. I don't know if that was omitted from the original recipe or because I added so much more dry seasoning. Also, to cut sodium I puréed 6 Roma tomatoes in place of crushed tomatoes. Anyway, I'm gonna take some to my cardiologist in lieu of my copay next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Amazing recipe. Hubby and 2 year old toddlers loved it. Great vegetarian option for the busy weeknights! Will definitely make this one of our regular meals!!! I added extra garlic and used chiptole chile powder and smoked paprika - to tone down the spiciness for the little ones. Shredded some sharp cheddar on top. It turned out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Oh my goodness!! My wife is normally the chef of the house but I made this recipe my own and I nailed it! I know this is a vegetarian chili but we're omnivores. So I started with 1lb of lean ground beef, threw in the diced onion and cooked those together with some seasoning salt, cracked black pepper, and the garlic. I also used 2 cans of the tomatoes instead of the 1 the recipe called for so it would have for of a chili consistency. After that I had to start seasoning to taste so I'm not sure how much of everything I put in. Extra cumin, chili powder, some freeze dried garlic, a dash or two of the trader joe's brand season all, ground sea salt, and ground black pepper. I also substituted with red quinoa, added about a tbsp or so of sriracha, and the juice from 1 small lime (which is what made the dish). I served it over some homemade cornbread and oh my goodness!! Everyone loved it! Definitely making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Excellent use of quinoa for a healthy, filling and tasty chilli. I found however, that hte proporations were a bit off - with one can of tomatoes and one cup of quinoa, the chilli came out more like a couscous and not as soupy as I like. I ended up adding two more cans of crushed tomatoes and the results were a family batch of excellent chilli. In the future though, maybe a half a cup of quinoa for smaller portions. I also didn't have chipolte so substituted bbq sauce for the smokey flavour - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This turned out so well. Our reluctant vegetarian was so pleased with the texture and taste. We removed the corn, because, well, corn doesn't belong in chili. After tasting, we added a can of diced tomatoes and some shredded sharp cheddar cheese. To serve, we topped it with sour cream and some more cheese. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Delicious flavors. I made this recipe just as directed. It was a little too hot (spicy) for my family. So make adjustments where necessary. I would suggest halving the jalapeno for starters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe! I didn't have any oregano and added extra chipotle/adobo (as I enjoy those flavors) ... it was great! Served with sliced avocado, no cheese.; kept it vegan. It is very thick and spicy! Those who don't like as much spice might want to eliminate the jalapeno and use diced green chili instead. But please, don't skip the chili powder or chipotle. I can assure you, any reviews that describe this chili as "bland" surely eliminated one or both of those things. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States