Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Amazing! This recipe is a keeper. I will certainly make it again. This time I did not add chipotle peppers or corn. The recipe does yield a lot of food - I took it to a pot luck so that was great. Everyone (including the meat eaters) really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this last night on the fly because I didn't put any meat out to thaw. I had all the ingredients in pantry which is always a bonus. I don't keep crushed tomatoes but used petite diced instead. I also only used red pepper because green doesn't like me. This came together very easily. I did have to add about a cup of water to get the consistency I like. I also did not put the quinoa into the chili instead I put it in the bottom of the bowl and ladled the chili on top. This made a HUGE amount of food which surprised me. Super economical to make. It was very filling too. The taste was spot on and the chipotle added a really nice smokey flavor to the dish. The chipotle are spicy and I found I didn't need to add hot sauce to the dish which rarely happens. Thanks for sharing such a great dish. I will make this again for sure. It exceeded my expectations and we did not miss the meat one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was an excellent veggie chili recipe! I cooked the quinoa in veg broth and added a cup or two to the chili to thin it out. I also left out the zucchini, as I do not care for it, and substituted diced green chilis for the chipotle pepper since that's what I had available. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was absolutely amazing. It had the perfect amount of spice, and was really flavorful. Out of personal preference, I took out the zucchini and added carrots instead. I also added an extra can of tomato soup and a bit of water as it was really thick. Came to a perfect consistency. Will definitely be making this again in the future, thanks for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I decided to make this just from what I had in my pantry, so that said... it differs a bit from the original, but turned out really, really good! I also cooked my quinoa in vegetable broth rather than water, for extra flavor. I added 1/2 t smoked paprika to the spices. I cut back the chili powder & cumin to approx. 1/2 T each, as it seemed like it would be too much. I used the diced tomatoes that have green chilies in them and just 14 oz (all I had on hand). I supplemented the rest of the tomato with about 16 oz of vegetable (V8) juice. I used 1 can kidney and 1 can black beans. I had no green bell pepper, so only used red. Had no zucchini on hand, so left it out. Had no jalapeno or peppers in adobe sauce on hand, but did have a jar of medium heat salsa verde, so put in about 1/2 cup of that to get some spice. We topped ours with sour cream and cheddar cheese... Considering I did this completely with what I had on hand, it turned out great and the recipe gave me the inspiration to make a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Really great tasting and healthy recipe. I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I chopped up some canned sliced ones which I think reduced the heat a bit but was still tasty. Topped it with some shredded cheeses and served with tortilla chips. My fiance didn't even realize there was no meat in it until I told him after he polished off his second bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious! Very hearty and healthy. I used Chiplotle powder instead of the chiplotle peppers and 3 jalapenos instead of one. I also added about 1 cup water as it was so thick, it was impossible to simmer, otherwise. Very tasty and highy recommeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
As a vegetarian I was looking for a chili recipe with quinoa. I was excited to try this recipe given all the rave reviews but I ended up being disappointed with it. The dish came out very thick, almost like a quinoa pilaf with lots of other things missed in, rather than a chili. I like my chili a little bit soupy but this was not, even after adding an additional 15-oz can of tomatoes! The quinoa soaked up any available liquid. If I were to make this again I would cut down dramatically on the amount of quinoa so that it would be an ingredient in the recipe but not the main focus of the dish. Also, even though I followed the recipe it turned out surprisingly bland to me. I had to add salt at the table to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Yum! Even better with avocado as a garnish. Didn't change a thing except I cooked the quinoa in vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was great! I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth, didn't have zucchini, otherwise kept everything the same...served it with grated cheese and a little sour cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States