Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I had never had quinoa before, and I am not a big bean fan. I found this meal to be fabulous! The only thing I did was omit the chipotle peppers, and just added some adobo sauce. My husband (who likes MEAT!) was also a fan of the dish - but he did stir in cheese. I highly recommend this as a fall/winter meal to get lots of veggies and grains with a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this chili for dinner last night and was REALLY pleased with it. I am not a chili person at all, so that should tell you something. A few notes: 1) like others, I cooked the quinoa in broth (low sodium vegetable). I think red quinoa is key - don't swap out for the white variety. 2) Next time, we'll add more chipotle peppers / adobo sauce. It was very nice w/ the amount recommended in the recipe, but a little more would be great. 3) I added large chunks of portobella mushrooms close to the end of the cooking process (along with the corn, basically) as I like them in just about everything. They were excellent. 4) Next time, I'll add more zucchini (I shred mine) and will probably do away with the bell peppers (just a preference thing - I'm not crazy about bell peppers in general and don't feel like they add much, other than color. 5) I used roughly 6 cloves of garlic. We're garlic people. Next time, will do same and probably add some garlic powder, too. We're not vegetarians, but I prefer cooking vegetarian meals (just more interesting than meat-based dishes, in my opinion) and as many of our friends are vegetarians, I try to keep a batch of recipes on-hand that will please everyone. Even as-is, I feel like I could have served this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! I found the chipolte peppers in the section with taco stuff. I made a few small changes to accommodate my personal preferences (no corn, olive oil instead of vegetable, red quinoa cooked in chicken broth, no cilantro). The heat of this dish is awesome, next time I might add another jalapeno. In my opinion, this needs at least 2 cups of water. Loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Delicious! Even my suspicious carnivore of a husband liked it and said he'd eat it again! We used a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies, plus a pepper and an onion for the vegetables. Great way to eat quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I tried the recipe as is and it came out a little bland. Needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fantastic dish! Went over really well, and besides for lots of chopping of vegetables, pretty easy to make. Reheats well for leftovers. Goes awesome with a side of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is such a hearty chili, you won't miss the meat. I top it with a dollop of fat free sour cream and serve with a salad. This recipe does make a lot, but you'll have lunch for the remainder of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love this recipes as it is! It makes the best leftovers served in tortillas for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States