Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! I hardly ever review recipes that I try, but this recipe is FANTASTIC, I will definitely be making this for years to come. I did make some changes- I didn't use zucchini (i like zucchini, but just wasn't in the mood). I used green, red, and orange peppers. Plus the corn helped make the chili very colorful. Instead of pre-cooking the quinoa, I simply placed all of the ingredients into a crockpot. Because quinoa really takes on the flavor well, it worked out nice. It took about 3-4 hours on high, but you could turn it to low once it gets going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Amazing! What a great spicy flavor. This will be my staple chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made this for my husband and he loved it. I made a few changes based on what I had in the house. I did not soak Quinoa. I used organic. increased chili powder to 1.5 tbls of Chili (Indian chili powder), and reduced black bean to 28oz black bean (can), no red pepper, 2 zucchini and 1 hot chili pepper. I did not have chipotle pepper in adobe sauce so I left that out. Left out oregano. I used fresh jersey corn (as it was available). I think you can make a number of changes to this recipe and it still would be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I had never had quinoa before, and I am not a big bean fan. I found this meal to be fabulous! The only thing I did was omit the chipotle peppers, and just added some adobo sauce. My husband (who likes MEAT!) was also a fan of the dish - but he did stir in cheese. I highly recommend this as a fall/winter meal to get lots of veggies and grains with a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this chili for dinner last night and was REALLY pleased with it. I am not a chili person at all, so that should tell you something. A few notes: 1) like others, I cooked the quinoa in broth (low sodium vegetable). I think red quinoa is key - don't swap out for the white variety. 2) Next time, we'll add more chipotle peppers / adobo sauce. It was very nice w/ the amount recommended in the recipe, but a little more would be great. 3) I added large chunks of portobella mushrooms close to the end of the cooking process (along with the corn, basically) as I like them in just about everything. They were excellent. 4) Next time, I'll add more zucchini (I shred mine) and will probably do away with the bell peppers (just a preference thing - I'm not crazy about bell peppers in general and don't feel like they add much, other than color. 5) I used roughly 6 cloves of garlic. We're garlic people. Next time, will do same and probably add some garlic powder, too. We're not vegetarians, but I prefer cooking vegetarian meals (just more interesting than meat-based dishes, in my opinion) and as many of our friends are vegetarians, I try to keep a batch of recipes on-hand that will please everyone. Even as-is, I feel like I could have served this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! I found the chipolte peppers in the section with taco stuff. I made a few small changes to accommodate my personal preferences (no corn, olive oil instead of vegetable, red quinoa cooked in chicken broth, no cilantro). The heat of this dish is awesome, next time I might add another jalapeno. In my opinion, this needs at least 2 cups of water. Loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Delicious! Even my suspicious carnivore of a husband liked it and said he'd eat it again! We used a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies, plus a pepper and an onion for the vegetables. Great way to eat quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I tried the recipe as is and it came out a little bland. Needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fantastic dish! Went over really well, and besides for lots of chopping of vegetables, pretty easy to make. Reheats well for leftovers. Goes awesome with a side of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States