Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is such a great recipe. So good! Even my husband said it was the best chilli he's ever had. I didn't feel like going to the store so I had to make a few subsitutions. I didn't have caned tomatoes so I used a couple fresh ones and (ha) a 1/4 cup of jarred pasta sauce to give it that tomatoey texture. I also used one can pinto and one can black beans. No bell peppers or chipotle but plenty of Jalapenos and Zucchini. Few squezes of lime! Such a great recipe, even with all the subsitutions it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This dish is delicious! My family of 6 are trying to limit our meat intake to once or twice a week. With dishes like this, it won't be a problem at all. I didn't tell my picky eaters (hubby and four kids) what it was until after and they didn't even realize it was meatless chili. The Quinoa in the dish really takes the the place of beef. I made the recipe with a few changes: used veggie broth to cook the quinoa, omitted the jalepeno peppers and only used 1/2 of the chipotle pepper. I also added some chicken broth after I put the quinoa in to loosen it up a bit. It is really thick as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I rate this four stars because while it's good as is, there's something missing. I played with it and feel these changes improve the outcome. When you're putting in the tomatoes etc. add the following: 1 tbsp cocoa (I know it sounds weird but it's really good in chili and you won't think it's chocolatey---it just adds some depth and body to the flavor); 1 1/2 tsps liquid smoke (this made a very big difference, highly recommend using); 1 tsp white sugar; 1 tsp brown sugar; 1/4 tsp cayenne; 2 tsps coriander. I also use just under 1 tsp salt and about 1/4 tsp black pepper. A great, healthy meal that goes a long way and costs little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! This was the first time I ever made chili and what a success. I use to buy the canned chili which doesn't even come close to this one. I ended up using kidney beans instead of black beans but I am sure using black beans is just as good. This is a recipe I will continue to make. Thank you for sharing. All the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
very good. next time I would put a little less tomato and a little more beans. Still, it is very good. The flavors blend very nicely. It's a good Fall/Winter meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! I hardly ever review recipes that I try, but this recipe is FANTASTIC, I will definitely be making this for years to come. I did make some changes- I didn't use zucchini (i like zucchini, but just wasn't in the mood). I used green, red, and orange peppers. Plus the corn helped make the chili very colorful. Instead of pre-cooking the quinoa, I simply placed all of the ingredients into a crockpot. Because quinoa really takes on the flavor well, it worked out nice. It took about 3-4 hours on high, but you could turn it to low once it gets going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Amazing! What a great spicy flavor. This will be my staple chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made this for my husband and he loved it. I made a few changes based on what I had in the house. I did not soak Quinoa. I used organic. increased chili powder to 1.5 tbls of Chili (Indian chili powder), and reduced black bean to 28oz black bean (can), no red pepper, 2 zucchini and 1 hot chili pepper. I did not have chipotle pepper in adobe sauce so I left that out. Left out oregano. I used fresh jersey corn (as it was available). I think you can make a number of changes to this recipe and it still would be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I had never had quinoa before, and I am not a big bean fan. I found this meal to be fabulous! The only thing I did was omit the chipotle peppers, and just added some adobo sauce. My husband (who likes MEAT!) was also a fan of the dish - but he did stir in cheese. I highly recommend this as a fall/winter meal to get lots of veggies and grains with a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this chili for dinner last night and was REALLY pleased with it. I am not a chili person at all, so that should tell you something. A few notes: 1) like others, I cooked the quinoa in broth (low sodium vegetable). I think red quinoa is key - don't swap out for the white variety. 2) Next time, we'll add more chipotle peppers / adobo sauce. It was very nice w/ the amount recommended in the recipe, but a little more would be great. 3) I added large chunks of portobella mushrooms close to the end of the cooking process (along with the corn, basically) as I like them in just about everything. They were excellent. 4) Next time, I'll add more zucchini (I shred mine) and will probably do away with the bell peppers (just a preference thing - I'm not crazy about bell peppers in general and don't feel like they add much, other than color. 5) I used roughly 6 cloves of garlic. We're garlic people. Next time, will do same and probably add some garlic powder, too. We're not vegetarians, but I prefer cooking vegetarian meals (just more interesting than meat-based dishes, in my opinion) and as many of our friends are vegetarians, I try to keep a batch of recipes on-hand that will please everyone. Even as-is, I feel like I could have served this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States