Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow, why has no one tried and rated this recipe yet? Yay! I am first! :D This is an absolute EXCELLENT Vegetarian Chili option! with the inclusion of the quinoa, you do not miss the meat and it is SO healthy for you. I made a couple changes, I used vegetable broth to cook my quinoa in as opposed to water (I always do and it lends a nice flavour to the quinoa), and used red quinoa as I prefer that over the plain. I also used Ground Chipotle Chili Powder instead of regular chili powder as I love the smoky flavour it brings to the dish. To make this even more healthy and to cut out as much sodium as possible, I used dried beans (re-hydrated) and instead of the canned/crushed tomatoes, I chopped up 4 large roma tomatoes, oops, one more, I left out the zucchini as I am not a fan of that vegetable. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly with all the other ingredients and it is spicy with the inclusion of the jalapeno and the chipotle, so adjust to your liking if you are not a fan of too much heat. This does make a large pot worth, so I just divided it up into 2 cup portions and froze them, these will make great meals on the fly, just serve with some cornbread or a salad! Thanks Shauna for the great recipe! a clear winner here! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
While I have been using this website for years, this is the first recipe I have ever reviewed. This chili deserves it! The only thing I did differently was to add an extra can of tomato sauce because I wanted a saucier chili. This was my first attempt at cooking with quinoa, so I was a bit worried that I wouldn't like the texture of it in chili. But it was wonderful. It blended right in and added a heartiness to the dish. Great recipe! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was really good and quick to make. Cooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I used green beans instead of zuccini and canned corn instead of frozen. To make it healthier, I used no salt added canned beans and veggies. I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Oh my goodness, this is amazing, so tasty! I made it exactly as stated and it truly turned out perfectly. I love the spiciness and the consistency, couldn't be better!!!! I will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My husband and I had heard that quinoa very healthy, and he really wanted to try it. He chose this recipe as the one he wanted to experiment with. I was rather reluctant, as food texture is a big deal for me, and I'm not a big fan of bell peppers. I'm so glad that we made this! Not only is the flavor excellent, but the crunch of the bell peppers really added a lot to this dish. The quinoa was a different texture than I was expecting (I thought it would be more like couscous), and it turns out I really enjoyed it! This recipe is very filling, and makes quite a bit, so we were able to freeze several containers for future meals. Thanks! (Oh - and my husband LOVED the chili! He wants to make it again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Oh I can't wait for leftovers tonight. So good and healthy! I did cook ny quinoa in chicken broth for a bit more flavor. Also added dried corriander and dried cilantro leaves since I had no fresh. I did have to thin this out a bit with some water. Once the cooked quinoa is added, it still seems to absorb moisture from the chili. Added some fresh mushrooms and a can of fire roasted tomatoes too. Served with shredded Mexican cheese blend and of course for me, I kick up the heat and add red pepper flakes to mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Best veggie chili ever. Nice served with fresh avocado and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This turned out wonderful, I added twice the amount of spices since we like it hot and made it in the slow cooker for about 8 hours so it was really easy. Just added the Quinoa the last hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Really loved this! Personal changes made: used veg broth and red quinoa; Added 1 tsp of coriander to the spices; red pepper was $3 each, so left out and wasn't missed; increased chipotle to 2 Tbsp (tip: purée a can of chipotle in adobe sauce, then drop by tablespoonfuls onto a tray and freeze, then pull out drops as needed); added 1C of water with the tomatoes to help loosen the mixture; added 1 drained can of corn. Dollop Greek yogurt on top and a bit of shredded cheese. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this last night. What a great way to use Quinoa. I soaked pinto beans the night b-4 in stead of the black beans, and added an 11 oz can of V8 juice. Left out the corn and zucchini, didn't have them and it really didn't need them, loved the chipotle added 2 T of that! Thank you Shauna for a great recipe, I will be making this again. I would give this 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States