Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow, why has no one tried and rated this recipe yet? Yay! I am first! :D This is an absolute EXCELLENT Vegetarian Chili option! with the inclusion of the quinoa, you do not miss the meat and it is SO healthy for you. I made a couple changes, I used vegetable broth to cook my quinoa in as opposed to water (I always do and it lends a nice flavour to the quinoa), and used red quinoa as I prefer that over the plain. I also used Ground Chipotle Chili Powder instead of regular chili powder as I love the smoky flavour it brings to the dish. To make this even more healthy and to cut out as much sodium as possible, I used dried beans (re-hydrated) and instead of the canned/crushed tomatoes, I chopped up 4 large roma tomatoes, oops, one more, I left out the zucchini as I am not a fan of that vegetable. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly with all the other ingredients and it is spicy with the inclusion of the jalapeno and the chipotle, so adjust to your liking if you are not a fan of too much heat. This does make a large pot worth, so I just divided it up into 2 cup portions and froze them, these will make great meals on the fly, just serve with some cornbread or a salad! Thanks Shauna for the great recipe! a clear winner here! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Oh my goodness, this is amazing, so tasty! I made it exactly as stated and it truly turned out perfectly. I love the spiciness and the consistency, couldn't be better!!!! I will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was really good and quick to make. Cooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I used green beans instead of zuccini and canned corn instead of frozen. To make it healthier, I used no salt added canned beans and veggies. I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
While I have been using this website for years, this is the first recipe I have ever reviewed. This chili deserves it! The only thing I did differently was to add an extra can of tomato sauce because I wanted a saucier chili. This was my first attempt at cooking with quinoa, so I was a bit worried that I wouldn't like the texture of it in chili. But it was wonderful. It blended right in and added a heartiness to the dish. Great recipe! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fabulous chili! The quinoa was an excellent substitute for ground beef or turkey. It's very high in protein for a grain, so you keep the protein and skip the fat. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Best veggie chili ever. Nice served with fresh avocado and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Oh my gosh amazing! I did not add zucchini (not in season), or the jalapeno or chipolte peppers because we don't do hot food in my house (lol). It is still fantastic! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was a hit with the whole family-even the 7 & 8 year olds. . I am the only vegetarian so when meat eating family likes a dish...you know it was good. They called it a keeper! I used fresh soaked black beans. Olive oil instead of veg oil. I added an extra zucchini because we like them. I did not use the jalapeno but I use a roasted green chili. I added more tomatoe sauce and two fresh minced tomatos. I also added fresh roasted corn about two ears. served it to the meat eaters with chedder cheese sprinled on top. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
We love this! I made it exactly to the recipe specifications. Also, it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
SO GOOD! we make a great turkey chili, but are trying to work some more veggies/different grains into our diets. This is so tasty, we will make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States