Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised. It didn't taste "healthy". Husband and kid approved. I added about 2 cups vegetable broth to make it soupier and a hint of lime. Next time I think I would cook the peppers down with the onions as a personal preference for softer vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
OK, but not a lot of flavor - especially since my family required that I not use the chipotle or jalepeno! The texture was odd for something called "chili". Mushy, maybe "polenta-like" to be nicer. Any way to be creative with quinoa deserves our thanks, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Excellent!! Nuff said...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I did not add the jalapeño and forgot the zucchini. This is a great recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Totally awesome! Yum Yum. I did make changes to use what I had on hand. Did not use peppers or zucchini. Added chili beans, carbonzo beans. Did add cocoa, liquid smoke, and fire roasted tomatoes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Perfect, everyone loves it. I increase the veggies and add squash and carrots (diced into small pieces).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is a very good recipe I added green chillis and eliminated squash. Love the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q Hensley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We are a family of red meat eaters, I forgot to thaw out anything for dinner and chose this recipe as an alternative. I am in love! I had to leave out the zucchini and corn because I didn't have any - other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Full of flavor, very filling and my whole family adored it! It was simple and we are impressed. This is a five star recipe and one that we will embrace happily if we forget to thaw out meat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy Wolyniak
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was so hearty and perfect for a cold day. I skipped the green pepper, added 1/4 red bell pepper and 2 yellow squash instead of zucchini. Topped with nonfat Greek yogurt- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Wolyniak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! I did add my own little touches of course. First I used all organic ingredients. I also omitted the zucchini and the corn. I sautéed the veggies all together instead of separately, added some of the bean liquid and then the spices. Then I added the tomatoe sauce and beans. I also added a little cayenne for some more heat. I used rainbow quinoa and cooked it with some sautéed onions and garlic and used half chicken broth half water for more flavor. I simmered the chili for about 35-40 mins total. The chili was topped with spinach, tomatoes, avocado and some shredded cheddar cheese. Absolutely delicious. My boyfriend and I are newer to quinoa and he was avoiding this dish since it was meatless but when I finally made it he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States