Quince Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Works well and is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Actually you are not quite correct. Quince is wonderful eaten raw. Growing up in Germany it was a great summer treat for us kids. Yes, quince is quite tart, and it has a texture even grainier than pears. But it is delicious even raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Finally! A recipe for the sweet little Quince tree the owner of the home before us left us. Last fall, I had no idea what to do with the quince - and the sweet smell of a quince can be deceiving! (I, too, found it tart - after a huge bite!) What a perfect way to cook up my quince and enjoy them all year long. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I have not tried this recipe yet, but one can eat a quince raw. I used to eat them sprinkled with salt as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
You don't really need to add pectin to quince jelly. Quince is tart enough that it supplies its own pectin. Just put the same amount of sugar in as you have liquid from cooking the quinces and cook to the jelly point. I think I'd simmer the quinces a little longer, too, and it looks to me like there ought to be more water. Quince/apple jelly is really delicious. Just substitute half of the quince liquid with pure apple juice. I would like to add, also, that there are two kinds of quince. There are the quince from a tree that grows approximately 10 feet tall. They look like a cross between an apple and a pear. The quince that grows on a short red-flowering bush are less tasty and, in my experience, are mostly seed and not all that pleasant to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
No need to add pectin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I did not even know what quince was until some one gave me a sack full --tried this recipe and every one raved about it--of course I took all the credit.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
my grandmother always made quince jelly and it was my favorite. i can't find it anywhere in stores. her recipe did not use pectin either, and the sugar was a little less than the same volume of quince juice after being boiled and squeezed through muslin, so 4 cups of juice would be a scant 4 cups of sugar. i love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious. The quinces were way too sour to eat alone. I used pectin to err on the side of caution and the jelly turned out just right. I'm not certain why someone who has not made this recipe felt it necessary to make a negative comment when the jelly is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Good receipe clearer jelly comes out if you don't squezze the cheese cloth Just let it drip out maybe even over night. You can also make jam with quince if you chop up the fruit small and prepare like normal marmalade but you must peel first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States