Quick Zesty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I used EVOO instead of canola oil only because that was all I had on hand. I did not have Old Bay on hand but I did have homemade cajun seasoning that I used in equal amounts. We LOVED these green beans. They were anything but average for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was quite good! I made some changes. I heated about 1/2Tbsp of olive oil, sauteed some diced onion and garlic for a few seconds, added 1/2Tbsp butter, Then I added the vegetables (I'd half cooked them in the steamer). I added some julienned carrots and yellow peppers to the green beans for extra vitamins and color. I made them for Father's Day and my family loved them. Even my notoriously picky sister asked for the recipe. I almost fell over in shock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I never thought of using Old Bay on green beans. I loved it! I omitted the nuts and added bacon bits and it was great! I made this with the Spinach Stuffed Chicken and it was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
These beans were FANTASTIC! I couldn't find any old bay blackening seasoning (I had never even heard of it), so I found a recipe to make my own blackening seasoning. They turned out perfect, even my boyfriend gives them a 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Well, I'm getting old. Thought I had pecans, but didn't. Used almonds instead. Forgot the recipe called for BLACKENED Old Bay- didn't have any, so used regular Old Bay. Turned out great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I've got to agree with one other reviewer - these are not really that tasty. I was looking for a memorable side dish with green beans - and, this is just not it. Couldn't really taste the Old Bay seasoning on the beans, either. Tried adding grated parmesan cheese, and that helped a wee bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These were agreeable but certainly nothing extraordinary or memorable. After all, when push comes to shove this is still nothing more than seasoned green beans. In consideration of Hubs’ sensitive innards I substituted cooked and crumbled bacon for the pecans which should have made this even better but these were still rather average green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
AWESOME, the only change i made was that I ground up the pecans into meal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
SO, SO, SO GOOD!!!!! My kids don't like green beans... But they loved this recipe!!! My husband and I loved it too!!!! I didn't change anything and I already make it three times... This is one of my favorite vegetable side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great! Added lemon juice, salt, pepper, yellow and red pepper, garlic, onion, carrots. Steamed all items except onion and garlic (softened them in skillet with grapeseed oil). Didn't use the pecans or Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States