Quick Zesty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I'm not a big fan of pecans, but this sidedish was excellent! This recipe will be frequently repeated in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYaJessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I have made this several times--we really enjoy it. Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
These beans were FANTASTIC! I couldn't find any old bay blackening seasoning (I had never even heard of it), so I found a recipe to make my own blackening seasoning. They turned out perfect, even my boyfriend gives them a 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I liked these well enough to make them again. Hubby had no comment, but I think he prefers just plain ol' green beans. I liked that they were tender-crisp and blackened a little on the outside. The Old Bay gave these a nice flavor. I could have used a lot more because I like things on the spicy side, but they were great overall. Just warm on the spice scale, very mild overall. I used hot oil (chile oil) and EVOO to make this. Very quick and very easy! I used frozen long slender green beans. Did not parboil first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I made this twice and used a wok. It came out great and my guests enjoyed this too. The first time I just used the Old Bay Seasoning (without the blackening since I didn't have it) and the second time I found the seasoning. It was good either way. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of the minced garlic as well. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Was easy and delicious. I used montreal steak seasoning rather than old bay, and had to add more salt. Was easy and delicious! Very good with some bacon as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I could not find OLD BAY Blackened seasoning, so I improvised and added some minced garlic instead. The pecans gave some good flavor and crunch. Excellent idea. Extra pecans don't hurt either. The extra pecans were used as salad topping for added flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QurlyQs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Great recipe. My whole family including kids love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
These were really good. Not everyone liked the pecans, though. May try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Who would have thought that Old Bay seasoning would work with a vegetable such as green beans. I used frozen green beans and just put them in a pan with EVOO. Added the Old Bay along with pepper and salt and the family enjoyed. Thanks. Made with Elegant Pork Tenderloin from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States