Quick Zesty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I never really knew how to make string beans like I had in a restaurant. Well, now I do. Easy, tasty and will make them this way gain. I'm not a fan of old bay so I used fine sea salt and they were perfect. I made them for diner tonight with a steak and it was like I ordered out from a top restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My favorite part of this recipe is how quick it is to make such a nice side dish! I used olive oil, walnuts, and regular old bay since I had it on hand. It was great! I'm sure with canola, pecans and blackened old bay it would be even better! This will probably become one of my go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My family loves old bay with seafood. However this was not the case with green beans. I wouldn't make this recipe again. You could substitute lawrys instead and it would turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was very good. I used regular Old Bay Seasoning and no nuts as they hurt my husband's teeth. I usually cook green beans until they are very soft, so this method was new, but the beans were quite tasty. It will be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe! We most often steam or boil our green beans, so it was nice to try something different. We really liked the sweet and savory flavors. We only made slight changes - half butter/half EVOO, and a cajun spice blend - and it turned out great. We will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Very nice green bean recipe...can use any type of blackening or cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Easy and yummy! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Wow! Surprisingly delicious! Such a simple dish, but really tasty. The beans get coated beautifully and the pecans make for some nice variation. To those of you who wonder if you'll like this if you don't also like Old Bay, you will! I generally don't like Old Bay (I know it from Five Guys' fries), but my fiance loves it so I made this dish, an we BOTH loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was delicious and quick. I browned an onion and some garlic in olive oil before adding the green beans to saute. I used peanuts - crushed- instead of pecans, and I used Montreal Steak seasoning instead of Old Bay just because I like the flavor better. It was crispy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I used EVOO instead of canola oil only because that was all I had on hand. I did not have Old Bay on hand but I did have homemade cajun seasoning that I used in equal amounts. We LOVED these green beans. They were anything but average for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States