Quick Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe is great! The dough was gloppy and hard to work with. Next time I will grease my fingers before dropping in the pan. In my opinion, sweetness is good, but they could use a bit more salt. I just used plain shortening (which has no flavor at all) as the recipe called for. To me, they would have had a more buttery flavor if I had used margarine or butter, or butter flavored shortening. They were very light and fluffy, melt in your mouth. I let rise about 30 minutes the first rise, then about 30 minutes the second rise in the cake pan. Next time I will allow to rise a bit longer. I didn't use a muffin pan, just a 9x12 rectangular cake pan, and they spread out a bit, making square shaped pull apart bread, a little smaller than your average hamburger bun. I really think my pan was to big, and they expanded out instead of up. But all in all, I enjoyed the texture and the taste was a little bland, but once I spread some margarine on it, they were great. Next time I will add more salt and use margarine instead of shortening, or maybe a 1/4 t. of butter flavoring to the shortening mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Recipe forgot to mention to punch down dough after it rises in the bowl...The video on Yeast Rolls is very helpful...I would reduce the salt by half & only bake 8 mins. the next time...the bottoms were too dark, almost burnt after the full ten minutes...Overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This, like many other roll recipes, is supposed to have a sticky dough! You are supposed to not be able to knead it. I think this is why folks keep adding too much flour. Do it like the recipe says. It never once calls for "kneading the dough." Because you can't. You have to spoon it and such. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
So easy and were great. This is the first time I made rolls that turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Always read reviews first! These turned out fabulous, but I would have questioned myself, had I not read the reviews. Great recipe that is easy and fast enough to be a regular item at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Ive made this recipe several times. The dough is a little sticky but they turn out so good. Tonight ive added in some garlic powder and italian seasonings to pair it with our pasta. its so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
These rolls are amazing! So simple yet so satisfying. You're family will love them. I made these last night and we devoured them. I let the, rise for the 1st time for a few hours, covered in plastic wrap. It is a sticky dough...do not add anything else to this recipe, it is exactly as it should be. I scooped it by hand into the muffin tin, messy but effective. To iChat I'm making these again tonight but I have 2 bowls full of bread dough rising on the counter right now. I didn't want to double the recipe and mess it up. :) Enjoy! We did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liztx8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Ick-too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe took no time at all. The rolls came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Wonderful!! I should have read the reviews before I made them, because I added a little more flour not knowing that is the way they are suppose to be. They were light and tasty...am planning on making four or five batches for Christmas. I didn't use muffin tins...I just dropped them by tablespoons on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States