Quick Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
What a nice surprise! I've been making my old tuna casserole recipe for forty years, and it didn't occur to me that there was a better--and quicker alternative. This is one of those "comfort foods". It is not meant to be a flavor-intensive, multi-ingredient meal. It is flavorful and soothing. My family declared it a "winner", and everyone had seconds. For preparation, I used "Healthy Request" cream of mushroom soup, and two 5-oz. cans of water-packed tuna, drained, with the other ingredients. I also added about half a cup of canned fried onions to the mixture, poured it into an 8x12-inch glass baking dish with a light coating of cooking spray, and baked it at 350F for about 15 minutes. I then sprinkled more fried onions on top of the casserole and baked it for another 4 minutes. This casserole is also quite economical. Thanks, Tresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a great dinner when you are short on time. My picky children and husband enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe using two boxes of extra creamy mack n cheese, two cans of tuna, one can of mushroom soup, half a can of milk and one can of peas. The cheese powder was mixed with the soup and milk in a bowl then added to the macaroni, tuna and peas mix. I also added lots of pepper and topped with Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We loved this. I substituted 1 small can of mixed vegetables, since I don't care for peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Huffman Mayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prestonsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I didn't know what this would come out as, but it was great, quick and easy. I made this for my oldest son, just so he could see how easy it was to make a dish. He loved it so much he took the leftovers home with him to eat the next day. He told me weeks later that he made it for some friends and it was a hit!!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Really good for an unglamorous casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Yum! I used albacore tuna, and because I didn't have peas, I used frozen mixed veggies (corn, peas, green beans, carrots). I also mixed in 1 cup of sharp cheddar, because tuna casserole needs melted cheese! :) This is great comfort food. I have always loved tuna casserole, and never thought of making it with boxed mac 'n cheese. What a great idea! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This has become a family fav for my young boys. I normally can't get them to eat fish especially tuna. Even my husband loves it. I have changed it to suit my own tastes however. Instead of using cheddar mac and cheese I use white cheddar mac and cheese, leave out the butter, and bake in the oven with mozza or marble cheese ontop. Sometimes I fry some onions and add it with the peas depending on how much time I have. A wonderful quick meal for few pennies. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
YUM!! I made as directed with Velveeta shells and cheese and it was SOOOOO good! I will try and bake it next time (no time tonight) but I'm sure it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Easy, amazingly simple ingredient list, and my two year old liked it! This is a keeper for those busy evenings when I have no clue what to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I doubled the sauce and put french fried cheddar onions on the top. Me and my husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States