Quick Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is more of a dressing for potato salad than tartar sauce. Leave out the mustard, add sweet pickle relish, dill pickle juice, dill weed, minced onion, lemon juice, and a dash of lemon pepper to the mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have made almost this same recipe since our Safeway stopped carrying Nalley Tartar Sauce... I don't use mustard, though. I take 2-3 Tbsp of pickle juice and mix it in. It gives is a thinner consistency and you don't get they mayonnaise-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rainier, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I reduced this recipe to two servings, but otherwise followed it exactly. It is definitely quick, and very tasty. I always have these ingredients on hand, so I will use this recipe again and again! If you prefer your tartar sauce with a dill flavor, just use dill relish instead of sweet. I served this with Cod Fish Cakes from Allrecipes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't measure anything. Just used the ingredients to taste. I kept forgetting to buy tartar sauce and made this on the fly. I'll never purchase tartar sauce again!! Thank you...thanks to all who left comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Great quick basic recipe. I prefer dill over sweet pickles, so I substituted. And for a little spice I added horseradish sauce and a pinch of white pepper. I believe that by using canola mayonnaise the fat and cholesterol #'s will be lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was very pleased with the results. I halved the recipe because that was all we needed for the meal and added just a tad more relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This tastes almost exactly how i always like my tartar sauce to taste...thumbs up !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Yummy & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissWynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good in a pinch, but I prefer the more authentic tasting versions. Nevertheless, it served its purpose well and tasted fine. I made a half batch to serve with salmon cakes. I used Dijon mustard instead of the yellow, splash of pickle juice for the lemon juice, added some chopped up bread & butter pickles, a bit of lemon pepper and tarragon. Definitely let this sit in the fridge a few hours to meld the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made fried fish for dinner, and realized I didn't have any tartar sauce. Came here, found this one, and had it made in about a minute. It is wonderful, my whole family loves it, and it saves me from having to worry about ever being out of tartar sauce again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States