Quick Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have made almost this same recipe since our Safeway stopped carrying Nalley Tartar Sauce... I don't use mustard, though. I take 2-3 Tbsp of pickle juice and mix it in. It gives is a thinner consistency and you don't get they mayonnaise-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rainier, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is more of a dressing for potato salad than tartar sauce. Leave out the mustard, add sweet pickle relish, dill pickle juice, dill weed, minced onion, lemon juice, and a dash of lemon pepper to the mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I reduced this recipe to two servings, but otherwise followed it exactly. It is definitely quick, and very tasty. I always have these ingredients on hand, so I will use this recipe again and again! If you prefer your tartar sauce with a dill flavor, just use dill relish instead of sweet. I served this with Cod Fish Cakes from Allrecipes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Yummy & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissWynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't measure anything. Just used the ingredients to taste. I kept forgetting to buy tartar sauce and made this on the fly. I'll never purchase tartar sauce again!! Thank you...thanks to all who left comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was very pleased with the results. I halved the recipe because that was all we needed for the meal and added just a tad more relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Great quick basic recipe. I prefer dill over sweet pickles, so I substituted. And for a little spice I added horseradish sauce and a pinch of white pepper. I believe that by using canola mayonnaise the fat and cholesterol #'s will be lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This tastes almost exactly how i always like my tartar sauce to taste...thumbs up !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I usually have a jar of Trader Joe's tartar sauce in the fridge for when I make fish sticks for the kids, tonight I was out. I made this very quickly and it was delicious! I had to stop my daughter from sticking her finger in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good in a pinch, but I prefer the more authentic tasting versions. Nevertheless, it served its purpose well and tasted fine. I made a half batch to serve with salmon cakes. I used Dijon mustard instead of the yellow, splash of pickle juice for the lemon juice, added some chopped up bread & butter pickles, a bit of lemon pepper and tarragon. Definitely let this sit in the fridge a few hours to meld the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States