Quick Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I love Taco Salad for several reasons! It's quick! It's perfect for a hot summer day! It's picky-eater-friendly. It's easily remembered at the grocery store in "threes": tortilla chips, taco meat, cheese; lettuce, tomato, onion; 1000 Island, salsa, sour cream; black olives, black beans, diced green chilies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barley Mow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Corn chips or tortilla chips Add: guacamole, avacado, cilantro, black beans, Dressings: Catalina, French, 1000 Is, salsa, chichi thick & chunky salsa Can serve with Spanish rice or/and retried beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was yummy, I have not had a taco salad in forever. I only had 1 lb of beef and so I made 1/2 recipe. I am not a fan of raw onions, so I decided to chop the 1/2 onion and sautee it in 1 Tblsp of safflower oil until transluscent. I then added the beef and an addition of 2 minced garlic cloves and a dash of garlic salt and black pepper. For the taco seasoning I used Penzeys Brand. It is more natural and less sodium than the packets. I used 96% lean ground beef from Trader Joes. I layered the bowls with torn lettuce from a bag of butter lettuce and radicchio mix also from TJ's. Then added about 5 broken ranch flavored tostado rolls chips, 1/4 chopped tomato, a tblsp or so of lite sour cream, 2-3 sliced olives, about 2 Tblsp of sharp cheddar cheese, 2-3 tblsp of medium Chi Chis brand bottled thick and chunky salsa. After that I layered 1/6 of the cooked meat and onion mixture, then topped that with about a tblsp more sharp cheddar and 2 tblsp more med salsa. This was so delicious. I did have to write down all of the precise measurements because I calculate calories currently. Made as is 1 bowl came to about 305 calories. That is fantastic. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
When the weather gets hot this is one our favorite quick easy meals, each person can put their own favorite toppings on top. I like mine on Doritos, while the other half likes the Fritos. I made the 'Avocado Ranch Salad Dressing' from this site for the dressing this time, usually we just top with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
How can you go wrong with this recipe? It's perfect the way it is but can easily be customized to include things you like and exclude things you don't like. Next time I'm going to try making it with refried beans instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I had to make a lot of adjustments. I cut the recipe in half. Omitted olives, cheese, sour cream,jalapeno peppers and organic taco chips. I used Romaine lettuce and low sodium taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Love! This was a quick and awesome recipe. I added some avocado and it was amazing.. I would make again! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is the recipe I use and it is delicious. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I ALWAYS add refried beans to mine and this makes it taste 100% better in my opinion. Also, as for the onion...I fry it up in the hamburger to "hide" it so my 7 year old will eat it and doesn't even know they're in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Good, but would be even better with the addition of a can of black beans and a side of homemade pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorahbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I have done this for years....but we call them taco boats. The ingredients in a bowl with the chips around the edge.....hence....the boat......yummm. JAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi London

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States