Quick Szechwan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Tasted more like a sweet and sour sauce even though I added 1 T less sugar than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I used this as a marinade for some chicken I had cubed. I drained and saved the sauce, then I stir fried the chicken and some snow peas, carrots, onion, bell pepper, and frozen green peas. I added the sauce back in to the wok and simmered for a couple of minutes for food safety, and thickened with some corn starch. I enjoyed it very much. Not as spicy as I thought it would be. I used fresno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I have tried this recipe and I really like it. I used powdered red pepper and ginger in place of the dried and fresh stuff. I must tell you this recipe sure adds a kick! Whew!!! I also added some ingredients like dried parsley and diced tomato along with some diced green peppers, onions and garlic. Here's my picture. I cooked chicken, beef and shrimp in the sauce over a bed of white rice and broccoli spears on the side. Hope you try this recipe, it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
reduced the sugar by half and added a bit of soya sauce. Also used dried chilis but since they didnt make it spicy enough, I just added a tablspoon of Siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBexx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great sauce for sauteed veggies and any meat/mushrooms. I added 2 Tbsp of soy sauce which added the perfect blend of salt to sweet, as well as a heaping tbsp of corn starch so the sauce thickens as it boils. Since I didn't have dried red chilies I used a tbsp of Rooster Sauce for a nice bit of heat. Just saute your meat and veggies, add some cooked rice noodles, and then add this sauce at the end and boil for a couple minutes and you've got a quick, healthy, delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this sauce! We like it hot, but it's good with mild peppers, too. And it's still good if you leave out the ginger for not-liking-ginger friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Although I didn't have fresh of all ingredients, I did substitute dry and the taste was wonderful. This is a great recipe for those of us who can't have soy. So happy I found it. A definite addition to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I doubled this recipe and added to stir fried chicken, peppers, and cooked rice. I also only put in half of the sugar, and it was still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this! So quick and easy but so delicious! the only change I made was using red pepper flakes instead of the red chile peppers as that's what I had on hand. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm used to soy sauce-based sauces for stir frys but this was a nice change. I used peanut oil instead of olive oil and red pepper flakes instead of the chile peppers. I'll use less sugar next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States