Quick Szechwan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
excellent recipe, changed a little. I didn't have ketchup so I used tomato sauce, used less sugar and dried spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Read previous reviews and was glad I did...scaled the sugar way back (it bears remembering that traditional ketchup is almost all high fructose corn syrup, so extra sugar is not necessary). Didn't have chiles so i used a tablespoon or so of sriracha sauce and also added some wheat-free soy sauce (before the soy, it tasted too ketchup-y to me). Most asian sauces are all high fructose corn syrup or made with wheat (a no no in our house) so it was nice to finally find one I could make with ingredients on hand. Very good with our veggies over rice. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Heinos
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
scaled this down and used it to make the hot and sour cabbage soup recipe from this site. I didn't have any fresh peppers but I did a quick soak method for some dried red chiles and it worked perfectly. A great recipe because I had all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this. I added oyster sauce instead of ketchup. It was a nice change to my stir fry..Will certainly use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
We tried this with a broccoli & tofu stir fry & it was surprisingly tasty. I nixed the sugar all together, & added 2 Tbs. soy sauce & a dash of cayenne (we like things spicy), & it made for a quick & tasty sauce. I'm sure we'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was easy to make. I thought it was a little too much vinegar but my husband said it was great. My 3 year old ate it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDIMAGIDI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good! I took a couple liberties as well by adding soy sauce and eliminating the sugar altogether (my wife is on a diet and wouldn't eat it that way). After having it, I would not want to add the sugar - it was superb as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We used ½ olive & ½ sesame oil to give this more of an Asian taste. We also made the substitution of 2T garlic chili sauce instead of the red chili peppers (but still added the amount of garlic called for in the recipe ingredients) . As other reviews suggested, we cut the sugar by ½ - & used brown (sugar) instead of white. Easy recipe to make & the sauce turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Really liked this recipe. But I also like my spices HOT. I added 1/2 tbsp of cayenne pepper and half dozen or so Tien Tsin (china chili peppers) and that did the trick for me. The heat sneaks up on you, and was just right! Will make again for sure!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is excellent. Didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp. of powdered like someone else did and cut the sugar to 2 tbsp. Had 3 nice and hot dried thai peppers and broke them to let the seeds out and get lots of heat. We made a stir fry from B.E. 3 pepper stir fry and thinly sliced sirloin that I had marinating in the sauce. Excellent. Thank You for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIBHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super simple spaghetti sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States