Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Ambrosial and Ethereal are the words to describe this cake. Followed recipe but added the zest of one orange and 1/4 cup of Grand Marnier. Baked at 325F beautifully and came out nice and flat. Frosting is divine and is what makes this cake pure perfection. Followed tip of another reviewer and mixed the crushed pineapple and juice with the vanilla pudding mix before folding in the Cool Whip (used lite). NOTE: Recipe states the large (16 oz.) tub of Cool Whip but unless you have a VERY deep 9x13 pan this would be waaaaaayyyy toooo much Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Cake was wonderful. To cut down on fat and calories, you can substitute the oil for 1/4 cup apple sauce, and use Cool Whip Lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I used a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple instead of the oranges in the cake mix as well as the topping, because i didn't have any oranges that day. It was supurb. My family adored it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is a lovely cake and one that I am proud to have made. :-) I can see why it was suggested as a good cake for a baby shower.. the frosting is soooo heavenly. I did make my frosting with real whipping cream as I don't care for cool whip whipped topping... and I didn't add any sugar just the pudding mix and the pineapple with it's juice and it was plenty sweet. I too found that the cake refrigerates well.. it's quite tasty today.. the day after the party. Mine was not dry at all, but I kept a very careful eye on it and did not rely only on the timer to know it was done. Oh and I was feeling anxious as I was putting all the pineapple and the juice into the bowl with my whipped cream til I realized that the pudding mix would absorb the juice just fine and that the recommendation to make the frosting and refrigerate it for awhile to let it set up was a very good idea. So, I did that and frosted the cake just before serving it. It was a big hit. I know that I can make this cake anytime and my family and friends will happily eat it up. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Really good cake. I didn't have any vanilla pudding so I used banana pudding which was what I had in my pantry and it turned out to be the perfect flavor to compliment the oranges and pineapple. Like other reviewers, I used a small tub of cool whip and I still had a little left over. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
Fabulous and very tasty. I have cut the whipped topping to only 8 ounces since the 16 ounces was a little too much for the size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have always known this as a Mandarin Orange Cake. I only used an 8oz Cool Whip, which was perfect. I used french vanilla pudding and about half the crushed pineapple in the frosting. If you let this set in the fridge overnight, it will be the moist, wet cake that I believe some reviewers are expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
I have had this recipe for years. I have used 2-8 or 2-9 inch pans and used the entire frosting mix to frost between the layers and around the entire cake...this makes a very delicious and beautiful cake for special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am giving this a 5 simply because the recipe works exactly as written. It is so easy that my 13 yr old baked it without any help. My problem with it was that it was just "missing" something, I would liked it to be a bit more fruity tasting considering the ingredients and considering that it had 4 eggs and 1/2 cup oil it really didn't taste that rich. A good recipe for someone who wants to get away from the usual chocolate cake. We will definitely use the pineapple frosting again but will pair it with a richer carrot cake rather than the yellow cake in this recipe. We do have a sweet tooth in our family so that might be the problem as this cake is quite mild - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My mom used to make this cake when we were growing up. I would always request it for my birthdays and have tons of memories of taking a slice to school packed in my lunch. My 9 y/o asked for it for her birthday today and I am hoping we can start this tradition for her too. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States