Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am giving this a 5 simply because the recipe works exactly as written. It is so easy that my 13 yr old baked it without any help. My problem with it was that it was just "missing" something, I would liked it to be a bit more fruity tasting considering the ingredients and considering that it had 4 eggs and 1/2 cup oil it really didn't taste that rich. A good recipe for someone who wants to get away from the usual chocolate cake. We will definitely use the pineapple frosting again but will pair it with a richer carrot cake rather than the yellow cake in this recipe. We do have a sweet tooth in our family so that might be the problem as this cake is quite mild - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
my dad love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This cake tasted wonderful. However, the presentation left a lot to be desired. The frosting was runny & puddled at the bottom of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This cake was so incredibly moist. The couple pieces that were left sat in the refridgerator covered only with a piece of wax paper and two days later it was *still* moist. If your cake turns out dry, you did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good. My kids loved the icing. I did find the cake just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very simple and very moist.I like that you can vary the colors/flavors according to the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SRWHITE
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
the recipe is incredibly easy, but the cake overall is not presentable. Why is there so much frosting? Are 16 ounces really necessary? It looks messy and sloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I did an ingrediant search and found this cake. The frosting didn't get made (lacked the CoolWhip), but I had leftover pineapple from a baked ham. I added some of the pineapple to the cake mix (about 1/4 cup). This is sooo yummy!!! Husband loved it, coworkers raved. Must make this again. With the frosting I bet it is suberb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay 74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This cake was so easy to make and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Delightfully easy to make and perfect for the summer months. All five of my children ate this right up and it is a "Keeper" recipe most definately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States