Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I lost my original recipe for this cake and this is the closest I found to the first version. The only difference being was the icing. In the original version it was made with cool whip and a container of premade vanilla frosting with the pineapple. I think either way is delicious. Try it, your family will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Solomons, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This cake was absolutly amazing and disappears everytime I make it! No changes necessary!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This was light and refreshing. A nice cool cake for a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Split3ways
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I made this one afternoon when my parents were in town visiting...it was all gone the next morning! It was very moist. See picture! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Split3ways

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am giving this a 5 simply because the recipe works exactly as written. It is so easy that my 13 yr old baked it without any help. My problem with it was that it was just "missing" something, I would liked it to be a bit more fruity tasting considering the ingredients and considering that it had 4 eggs and 1/2 cup oil it really didn't taste that rich. A good recipe for someone who wants to get away from the usual chocolate cake. We will definitely use the pineapple frosting again but will pair it with a richer carrot cake rather than the yellow cake in this recipe. We do have a sweet tooth in our family so that might be the problem as this cake is quite mild - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
my dad love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This cake tasted wonderful. However, the presentation left a lot to be desired. The frosting was runny & puddled at the bottom of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This cake was so incredibly moist. The couple pieces that were left sat in the refridgerator covered only with a piece of wax paper and two days later it was *still* moist. If your cake turns out dry, you did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good. My kids loved the icing. I did find the cake just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very simple and very moist.I like that you can vary the colors/flavors according to the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States