Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Very good. I served this separately since I was bringing it to a potluck. I made the cake into cupcake sizes and put the "frosting" next to it. Everyone liked the topping so much they went back to seconds of it. So I only came home with cupcakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hillary S.
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Nice recipe, went over okay-ish. Though I made it for a birthday and perhaps, like the reviews said - its more for wedding or baby showers. I dont know. But everyone loved it, though the mandarin oranges didnt seem to stand out in the cake as much as I wanted. Might try pineapple all around next time. Topping was a HUGE hit! Everyone wanted to know what it was, and I plan to make it when I need a quick dessert, possibly mix in some sliced apples. Will make a again, for family get togethers in the summer- seems like the perfect time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Really, really good. Made this recipe for Easter, except made into 24 cupcakes. For the frosting I used 8oz cool whip, and 8 oz cream cheese. For cupcakes this was too much frosting but was really tasty. Also added coconut with green food coloring for a fun spring look. This was exactly what I was looking for, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful cake. I have made this cake a few times. I always add a capfull of vanilla to the cake and the frosting. I think it makes it taste more homemade instead of coming from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I LOVED THIS CAKE!!! I USED THE EXTRA ICING FOR A FRUIT DIP WITH ALL KINDS OF FRUIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I have made this cake several times. I make it as a layer cake and will put pineapple preserves between the layers and on the top under the topping. I have experimented w/ different flavors of cakes as well. In place of the oil I use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very tasty and diferent.this a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This cake is so light and so delicious. It was a big hit. It's very easy to make too. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Wow, what a refreshing cake for a hot summer afternoon. This cake is perfect when you are just plain tired of the same old thing. I followed someone elses suggestion and added 1 unsweetened pack of orange Kool-Aid to the mix and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Kramer Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I took the cake to work for my supervisor's birthday. It was sooo yummy. She loved it as well as everyone else how tried it! I used half the cool whip and that was plenty. I would also add more mandarin oranges to the batter next time since you can't really taste it too much... it's still good, though.. and deserves 5 stars for taste and because it is super easy to make. It is a good idea to make the frosting and leaving it in the fridge to "set". I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States