Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
it was very moist and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The cake had no flavor at all, you would think with the juice and mandarins it would be very flavorful, however it wasnt. It was very bland, now the frosting however was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Instead of using oil you can use apple sauce 1/4 cup. My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
We loved it! Made a 9x13 inch pineapple flavored cake, then split it to make a 2 layer. Make the full amount of frosting and then sneak some for yourself! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is so yummy and perfect for a hot summer day (or whenever!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Sprunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe that my entire family just loves. It seems to have a ton of frosting but it is not too sweet. You can use S/F pudding, pineapple in it's own juice and light coolwhip (I do not care for the F/F coolwhip) AND if you are really desperate you can skip the oil and us 1/2 cup of applesauce in it's place to reduce calories and fat even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Light and tasty -- EXTREMELY satisfying!!! I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil (same amount) and it was truly delicious and you'd never know the difference if I hadn't told you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Convent, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Good but not great. Like other reviewers, I felt the flavor of the cake was too mild...it didn't taste any different to me than a plain yellow cake. The frosting is what really makes the cake, I think. I did take some previous suggestions and use an 8 oz. cool whip instead of the larger, and I'm so glad.....16 oz. would have been WAY too much for a 9 x 13" cake. I think I will try this again and add some orange extract to the cake mix and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I've made this twice now, both times the people that tried it said they liked it but it didn't disappear. The first time I thought it was way sweet but good. To cut back on the overpowering sweetness the second time I substituted the oil for unsweetened applesauce. I used manderin oranges that were sweetened with Splenda. For the topping both times I used instant lemon pudding to keep with the citrus theme. I mixed the pudding with pineapple with the juice drained and then folded in the whipped topping (low fat Cool Whip). It helped save some calories and it wasn't as overpoweringly sweet as the first time I made it. Next time I'm going to try and hunt down a lower sugar cake mix, that might just make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
One change; I put the pineapples in the blender first. It makes for a smoother, creamier icing. I was worried because it said to use the liquid from the can of mandarin oranges.I cooked this and it was gone in 2 days with only four people eating it. I've made it four more times since then and received requests for three birthdays and two parties a copy of the recipe from an aunt out of town. People who didn't even like cake or whipped cream even asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States