Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for dessert for our Easter Dinner. It was yummy! And sooooo easy too! My kind of dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This cake is easy and perfect just the way it is, but for added goodness--toast almond slices and coconut and sprinkle on top and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this was okay, but my family really didn't care for them. I made them into cupcakes, the recipe made way too much frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I made 2 changes to the recipe. I used a pineapple supreme cake mix because that is what I had & I used an 8 oz container of frozen whipped topping. The cake was delicious & I had plenty of frosting. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good and moist! It has become a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made this for a big family picnic tomorrow, Memorial Day. I made two cakes, this one and a Texas sheetcake. One for the citrus lovers and one for the chocoholics. Both cakes were very easy to make. I made a couple of slight changes to the Sunshine cake. I started with a Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix. I like a more intense orange flavor than the mandarin oranges would give it so I grated the rind of one orange and added that to the batter, plus 1/2 tsp of orange extract. I used french vanilla instant pudding for the topping. I mixed it with the crushed pineapple and let it set for a while before adding the Cool Whip, then I refrigerated this while the cake was baking. After the cake cooled, I frosted it and it looked great as it was, but I decided to 'gild the Lily' just a bit. I opened another small can of mandarin oranges and drained them, then patted them totally dry between paper towels, I arranged them in a sunburst pattern on the center of the cake. No question as to the name of the cake now. :) I haven't tasted this cake yet, I will tomorrow at the picnic. But I could tell from the orange aroma of that hot cake coming out of the oven, that it will be a big hit. I know I'll be making this cake again over the summer, it'll be a nice fruity desert for the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Here

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I love this cake and have made it for years. I use coconut cream instant pudding instead of vanilla and mix in the pineapple first then add in the whipped topping. Other wise the pudding doesnt always dissolve and the icing can be a little gritty feeling. I have also used pineapple instead of mandarin oranges; either way, it's delicious. This is the first cake to go at any bake sale too. Refridgerates well and is super moist and yummy. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I was looking to replicate a cake served at a potluck. This was no where near as good. The cake was too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Fattening......Tasty....Ooooooh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
it was very moist and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States