Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made this for a big family picnic tomorrow, Memorial Day. I made two cakes, this one and a Texas sheetcake. One for the citrus lovers and one for the chocoholics. Both cakes were very easy to make. I made a couple of slight changes to the Sunshine cake. I started with a Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix. I like a more intense orange flavor than the mandarin oranges would give it so I grated the rind of one orange and added that to the batter, plus 1/2 tsp of orange extract. I used french vanilla instant pudding for the topping. I mixed it with the crushed pineapple and let it set for a while before adding the Cool Whip, then I refrigerated this while the cake was baking. After the cake cooled, I frosted it and it looked great as it was, but I decided to 'gild the Lily' just a bit. I opened another small can of mandarin oranges and drained them, then patted them totally dry between paper towels, I arranged them in a sunburst pattern on the center of the cake. No question as to the name of the cake now. :) I haven't tasted this cake yet, I will tomorrow at the picnic. But I could tell from the orange aroma of that hot cake coming out of the oven, that it will be a big hit. I know I'll be making this cake again over the summer, it'll be a nice fruity desert for the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I love this cake and have made it for years. I use coconut cream instant pudding instead of vanilla and mix in the pineapple first then add in the whipped topping. Other wise the pudding doesnt always dissolve and the icing can be a little gritty feeling. I have also used pineapple instead of mandarin oranges; either way, it's delicious. This is the first cake to go at any bake sale too. Refridgerates well and is super moist and yummy. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I was looking to replicate a cake served at a potluck. This was no where near as good. The cake was too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Fattening......Tasty....Ooooooh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
it was very moist and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The cake had no flavor at all, you would think with the juice and mandarins it would be very flavorful, however it wasnt. It was very bland, now the frosting however was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Instead of using oil you can use apple sauce 1/4 cup. My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
We loved it! Made a 9x13 inch pineapple flavored cake, then split it to make a 2 layer. Make the full amount of frosting and then sneak some for yourself! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is so yummy and perfect for a hot summer day (or whenever!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe that my entire family just loves. It seems to have a ton of frosting but it is not too sweet. You can use S/F pudding, pineapple in it's own juice and light coolwhip (I do not care for the F/F coolwhip) AND if you are really desperate you can skip the oil and us 1/2 cup of applesauce in it's place to reduce calories and fat even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States