Quick Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I loved this as a child so I thought I would give this recipe a try. After many years of avoiding hydrogenated fats (Cool whip), this cake left me feeling a bit sick to my stomach. It tasted ok, but it was a bit too sweet and I just can't stomach Cool Whip. Maybe I'll try it with real whipped cream and a less sweet cake mix or make the cake by scratch. So if you've changed to a more healthy way of eating this recipe may not be for you as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
pretty good. make sure not to over cook cake, as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent light dessert my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I have made a similar recipe many times which uses a Lemon cake mix(Duncan Hines) and substitutes 1/2 cup applesauce for the oil and adds 1/2 cup buttermilk (I use the dry) and 4 egg whites for the whole eggs plus the juice from the small can of mandarin oranges. Instead of adding mandarin oranges to the batter, they are spread on top of the cake batter before baking. The topping is made with 8 oz of Lite Cool Whip, small pkg. of French vanilla pudding, and small can of crushed pineapple in juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
3.5 stars, pretty good - good change from the standard cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLEE01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for dessert for our Easter Dinner. It was yummy! And sooooo easy too! My kind of dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This cake is easy and perfect just the way it is, but for added goodness--toast almond slices and coconut and sprinkle on top and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this was okay, but my family really didn't care for them. I made them into cupcakes, the recipe made way too much frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I made 2 changes to the recipe. I used a pineapple supreme cake mix because that is what I had & I used an 8 oz container of frozen whipped topping. The cake was delicious & I had plenty of frosting. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good and moist! It has become a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States