Quick Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Like three earlier reviewers, I thought the filling was great but would skip the tomatoes entirely. Incidentally, I had a lot of extra filling -- this would've probably filled eight tomatoes. (This doesn't matter to me as I'll skip the tomatoes in the future.) Filling: Since some reviewers suggested adding nuts, instead of plain couscous I used Near East brand toasted pine nut couscous mix. For lack of ingredients, I used goat cheese instead of mozzarella. This turned out fine in small quantities. Since I'm not that great a cheese fan, I may skip it entirely next time. I also left out the mint. I'm glad I didn't leave out the basil -- I felt it added a lot to the recipe. Tomatoes: The tomatoes don't acquire the spicing of the couscous and end up dragging down the dish with their blandness. In addition, they made the couscous soggy -yes, I drained the tomatoes as the recipe suggested-, making the couscous less pleasant to eat. If, however, you insist on using the tomatoes, I suggest you cut them in half horizontally. I made the mistake of cutting a small hole in the top, and emptyed the insides and filled the tomato through that hole. This was bad because as the tomatoes expanded during baking, the skin wrinkled and shrunk, causing some tomatoes to split. (One of my uploaded pictures shows this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
Really Good. Have made it twice. Second time made a couple of changes. Used Fresh Mozarella and baked the tomatos with the caps on, it helped keep the moisture in so the couscous did not dry out. Good main dish alone but I agree with the reviewer that it said it could benefit from something with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent! I used pine nut couscous mix, substituted goat cheese for the mozzarella, added roasted red peppers along with the sun dried tomatoes, and skipped the mint. Also, after reading the comments about the mix being too soggy, I strained the tomato pulp before adding it to the mix. I cooked it with the tomato top on, and then removed the top for the last few minutes and put the tomatoes under the broiler. Overall, the taste was wonderful, no problems with the consistency, and this recipe was quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Wohl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This recipe had a really good flavor, but the texture was pretty mushy. I think adding some pine nuts would give it a nice crunch. Also, I ate it as the main course. As side dish with something else chewier, it might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Amazingly delicious with some changes: Sauteed 1\2 yellow onions with 3 garlic cloves and 1\4 cup of fresh parsley. Salted the pulp before added to cous cous mixture. Made half the tomatoes with mozarella and parmesan and the other half with feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I made this recipe, and even my picky boyfriend liked it. I'm so glad I stumbled upon it. I left out the fresh basil and mint, but added in some crushed red pepper flakes and dried italian seasonings. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
Deilicious, inexpensive and easy. What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were pretty good, I added fresh garlic. Next time I will leave out the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Overall I thought this came out really good. I added some kalamata olives to the couscous and omitted the mint. I stuffed the tomatoes and put them on the grill. Before grilling them I added more mozzarella to the top so there was nice melted cheese top. It was great. Next time, I might add some garlic or something. It felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Awesome even missing/substituting ingredients. Makes great leftover lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States